Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – The Book I wish had never Happened

Cursed Child.png

Publication date : July 31st, 2016goodreads

Publisher : Arthur A. Levine Books

Genre : Young Adult | Fantasy | Script

Page Count: 320

Synopsis : Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.
It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.
While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places. (From Goodreads)

Rating : 2.5 stars

cursed-child

(Spoilery Review)

Why didn’t I leave it alone? Why didn’t I leave it alone? WHY DIDN’T I LEAVE IT ALONE? I started off with a very nostalgic warm feeling inside but as I kept on reading and realized how they screwed EVERYTHING up, I went from warm, to disappointed, to frustrated to straight up angry. I just didn’t get it, like why hurt our feelings like that? 😦 Some parts of it hurt physically to read.

Anyway. I’ve seen a lot of people around saying it reads like a fanfiction but to me it didn’t (that may be because I haven’t read fanfiction in 6+ years). I used to read a lot of plays for school growing up so that felt just like that, the writing was alright even though the narration felt awkward and forced at times but the dialogue made me smile at some points because it was funny and reminiscent of the characters as kids. Mostly for Ron and Hermione because he was very hilarious and kind of the cool uncle and she was still bossy, witty and intelligent, and most of all they still bicker.

A character that I despised most of all was Harry, WHO WAS THAT? That’s not the Harry we know and love, that’s a dull, stuck up, know-it-all version of him that I didn’t enjoy reading about. Not at all. Especially when around his son Albus. I must admit that Albus can be a pain in the ass but he is a teenager, his tantrums are to be expected, the same can’t be told about Harry because he responded like a teenager more often than not. Just look at this:ou

ALBUS: No! I just wish you weren’t my dad.

HARRY (seeing red): Well, there are times I wish you weren’t my son.

WHO SAYS THAT? I get that he was angry and that he regretted it right after but that? Our Harry would never do that. He was also controling of Albus’ life without even hearing him out or taking his feelings into consideration. Oh! And best of all is when he said this to Professor McGonagall:

HARRY: Albus didn’t like me before. He might not like me again. But he will be safe. With the greatest respect, Minerva – you don’t have children –

GINNY: Harry!

HARRY: – You don’t understand.

I just couldn’t. And how did he justify his behavior at the end? “I didn’t have a father so I don’t know how to be one.” For God’s sake! And how are you a good father to James and Lily then? I call bullshit. You can say that I have lots of feeling about what they did with Harry’s character.

Now Scorpius. THAT BOY STOLE MY HEART. He’s the most precious potato I’ve ever read about, I just want to squish him into a hug. He is such a nerdy sweet boy who breaks all Slytherin stereotypes, I felt like he belonged in all the houses. I also loved how Draco just wanted to be happy.

As for the plot, I feel conflicted about it. As a plot of its own, it’s great, it holds itself and all but as a continuation that happens more than 20 years afterwards, it seemed really far fetched, especially since I had just finish Deathly Hollows the day before I just couldn’t separate the two and read it as its own thing. I would’ve preferred Albus and Scorpio to go on their own adventure instead of recycling Voldemort again and him having a daughter with Bellatrix is just so mind boggling to me. I know there have been theories going that way but I’ve never been on board with any of them. I must admit that Delphi being the villain took me by surprise because I didn’t expect it there to be a villain, just Albus and Scorpio screwing up the timeline.

Anyway, I just think they should’ve left the play alone, they just messed it up by releasing the script. I’m sure the actual play is magical and amazing, and if I could watch it I think I would be able to separate it from the original series and actually enjoy it. So, I’m not holding this thing against it. I’ll just pretend it doesn’t exist.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Cursed Child? If so, what did you think? Did it live up to your expectations?

Did you watch the Play? If so, how was it? 

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

26 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – The Book I wish had never Happened

  1. Aw… Such a shame that you didn’t like it. I never started it, and probably never will, because of the quite large amount of negative reviews that are out there. At least you don’t have to go through it again 😀

    Like

  2. I thought it was kinda meh. I don’t hate it but I didn’t love it (aside from Scorpius that boy did my house proud). I liked the other character that was in slytherin (Don’t know if I should say his name cause spoilers) because it really broke the mold of what we usually expect from hogwarts stories. I just wish we had more time actually at hogwarts because we still don’t really know what it’s like to be in Slytherin like we do with Gryffindor.

    Like

  3. This was the most disappointing read in a long time. I feel exactly as you do about Harry. We know him to be this wonderful boy who would never, ever say such horrible things to his son. Even if he was angry. And that comment to McGonagall was so out of line!
    This felt very reminiscent of fan fiction because a) there were Voldemort nose jokes b) the biggest plot hole in the original story was the Time Turner and c) Voldemort/Bellatrix has been a fan pairing since forever.
    I like to pretend this book never happened…

    Like

  4. I understand your feelings about this. I enjoyed it better than I did, but you’re right especially about Harry, I had a hard time recognizing him and liking him and his overall behaviour in the book. I still enjoyed the feeling of being back into that world, but it wasn’t perfect. I think I wouldn’t have minded if this play wasn’t there ahah 🙂

    Like

  5. I’m really sorry to hear that you didn’t like it (not that I’m expecting anyone to LOVE it, either :/ ), but while reading it I only focused on the good feelings it brought me and I was fine with it. I found it very entertaining and hilarious, and I had a good time, but that plot … no. I can’t accept a lot of things there as canon 😛
    Scorpius and Draco were my favorite characters too ❤

    Like

  6. Great review for this book Fadwa, though I’m sorry to see you didn’t enjoy it maybe as much as you’d hoped you would. I completely agree with you on everything you said about Harry. The Harry in the play was not the same Harry I remember reading for seven books when I was younger. I can’t imagine him ever saying that line about how he wished Albus wasn’t his son, not even in the heat of the moment so to say. Still I loved Scorpius and I loved Draco as well as the father son relationship those two characters had. 🙂
    I actually went to see the play in London and I do think there was a lot missing in the book which was in the play. Obviously there are some things you can’t put in a screenplay and have it be exactly the same as it would be seeing it on stage but honestly even the magic of the theater can’t repair Harry’s character in this book.

    Like

  7. I don’t consider it a Harry Potter book. It wasn’t even written by J.K. Rowling!!!!!
    What was with the timeturner ish like tf! They all got destroyed in OOTP and somehow Draco and Hermione conveniently have timeturners? ?? I had so many problems with this book tbh
    – Yasmin

    Like

  8. I personally loved it because I got to be back in the Potterverse again, but I also kinda hated it because it was so… backwards? Harry definitely wasn’t our Harry, and I couldn’t stand how he treated Albus! From the ending of Deathly Hallows, I thought Harry would be an amazing father! I haven’t read any Potter fanfics in a while, but it definitely read like one. I honestly think it just read wrong because it’s a script. I went into it expecting the 8th book and got this instead. I’ve mostly gotten over that now and excepted it as a separate story ment to be a little apart from the rest of the series.

    Like

  9. I wish they’d gone with a completely new adventure. I mean, how long can you use Voldemort? Even he gets to rest at some point!!
    As for the characters, massive disappointment, our old family was reheated in the microwave and given tepid lines while the new did not get enough crumbs to work with!

    Like

  10. I just finished this and have a lot of the same feeling as you it’s just hard to believe that this is actually canon it seems to ridiculous to be. I kinda wish it had never happened, I wanted more HP but not this I wanted a new villain and this is just all about the past.

    Like

  11. I loved your review! I felt pretty much the same way. Like I never understood Harry and Albus’s relationship, I didn’t get how he could be so rude and off putting. Plus how could Harry tolerate Draco, and not his son? I just didn’t care for it at all.
    Also it felt like the whole time traveling thing was just a cop out way of saying they satisfied every reader so that no matter what the outcome was they could say they did everything, and I hated that.

    Like

  12. SCORPIUS IS ONE OF THE MOST PRECIOUS CINNAMON ROLLS IN THE UNIVERSE! I love the little guy so much and I also adored that version of Draco. He was the way I always wanted him to be and he stuck up for his son, which couldn’t be said for Harry. It physically hurt me to read those confrontations between him and Albus. He was a shit parent right then and there.

    Like

  13. SCORPIUS SAVED THIS BOOK!!!! He is the most precious ever. I totally agree with all your points especially about Harry. I always loved that he was a flawed character with a bit of an anger problem (bc same) but there is absolutely no way he would EVER say that about his own son. That line almost made me stop reading and I kinda wish I had. The nostalgia was great, but it quickly wore off. Brilliant review, Fadwa.

    Like

  14. Pingback: To Sum-up: January 2017 | Word Wonders
  15. Ive read many reviews on the play mostly of people not enjoying it, which I totally understand. When I first read it I didn’t feel like it completely fit with the harry potter series. However having seen the play and then re-reading it you totally are emerged into the story. It was written to be a play not another book. which I agree, may have been a slip up, but i assume they jus wanted worldwide fans to join in! And the play was by far the best piece of theatre I have ever seen. I don’t even know how, but i managed to get tickets to go again this month, and if you are able to try, your opinion will be completely changed! SCORPIUS IS BAE! Honestly he is soon funny and makes it all worth while!!!!! This review was one of the most honest and true I have read, I felt the same before seeing it on stage!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes I’m sure I’d love the play, that’s what my last sentence was about. I know that with the actors, decor and everything it will make a lot more sense but as a book… it’s just, no.
      Riiiight? He’s such an adorable kid!
      Aww thank you so much 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah I hope that one day everyone will be able to see the play. They literally do magic on stage with moments that i still don’t understand how is done! Its such a shame as a book it was such a mush! At least scorpius is great! Haha!☺️☺️

        Like

Leave a Reply

