Word Wonders’ Reading and Blogging Round up

2016-round-up

Hello Guys !

Well, I know I’m late to the party and half January has already passed BUT it’s never too late to do my Blogging and Reading wrap-up. So, this was my first year as a blogger and I loved it, I learnt so much from my time in the community about myself, about books and about other people but it also helped with my reading. IMMENSELY. I’ve never read as much as this year, I normally read only around 20 books and I read almost 4 times that and I’m so happy about it. I also discovered a gazillion new books I’m SO excited about. So without further rambling let’s do this:

1

General Stats

  • Number of visits: 12.720
  • Number of unique visitors: 4.514
  • Number of WP followers: 536

Most popular Posts

My Favorite Posts

For the purpose of not repeating myself, I won’t re-use the same posts.

Bookbloggers I discovered and loved

Lila @ The Bookkeeper’s Secrets – Sammie @ Bookshelves & Biros – Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks – Marie @ Drizzle & Hurricane Books – Sara @ Freadom Library – Louise @ Genie Reads – The Girls @  Happy Indulgence – Liam @ Hey Ashers – Kirsty @ Kirsty’s Book Reviews – Hannah @ Mortal Reader – Jill @ Rant & Rave About Books – Naz @ Read Diverse Books – CW @ Read Think Ponder – Beth @ Reading Every Night – Reg @ She Latitude – Puput @ Sparkling Letters – Stephanie @ Teacher of YA – Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews – Kevin @ Bookevin – Jananee @ Head in her Books – Ava @ Bookishness and Tea – Kat @ Life and Other Disasters – Catia @ The Girl who reads too much – Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions – Meleika @ The Aus. Library – Regina @ The Bibliothèque – Cassie @ AdoptaBookAus – Jess @ JBelksBooks – Summer @ Xingsings – Amanda @ Cover 2 Cover Mom -Molly @ Molly’s Book Nook – Esther @ Chapter Adventures

I’m sure I forgot some people so if I forgot you I’m sorry I love you ❤

2

Here’s the thing, at the start of 2016 I had signed up for a bunch of challenges (4 to be exact) most of which I ended up abandoning as my interests changed. So I’m not going to be wrapping those up.

General Stats :

  • Number of Books read: 77 Books
  • Number of re-reads: 8 Books (All the Harry Potters + Eleanor & Park)
  • Number of pages: 26.747
  • Average rating: 3.7 stars
  • Top 3 Genres: Fantasy (31) – Contemporary (19) – Historical Fiction (7)
  • Series Completed: 7

Favorite Books :

I made a post dedicated to them so you can find them here.

Disappointing Books :

Favorite new authors/ new to me:

  • V.E. Schwab
  • Leigh Bardugo
  • Jandy Nelson
  • Ryan Graudin
  • Anna-Marie McLemore
  • Yaa Gyasi

Favorite Covers :

Books with Beautiful Prose

anna-marie-mclemore-when-the-moon-was-ours                       Jandy Nelson - I'll Give You the Sun

Books with #Squadgoals

marissa-meyer-4-winter                        leigh-bardugo-six-of-crows-2

Books with my OTPs

  • All the couples from Crooked Kingdom are well up there. *sobs*
  • Sam and Miel from When the Moon was Ours are the most adorable pairing I’ve ever seen.
  • Noah/Brian and Jude/Oscar from I’ll Give you Sun make my heart swell from happiness.
  • Isla and Josh from Isla and the Happily ever After are SO CUTE.
  • Lila and Kell from Shades of Magic have the most amazing banter and the best chemistry
  • JESSA from The Infernal Devices I’ll sink with and go to hell and back for them, I don’t care what you say.
  • Malec and Sizzy from The Mortal Instruments are so beautiful. I’m trash, seriously.

As you may have noticed, I ship A LOT.

Mendatory Reading for everyone

yaa-gyasi-homegoing


That’s it until next time.

How Did your Reading and Blogging year go?  

How Many Books Did you Read? And Which Books belong in these categories for you?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.signature

 

29 thoughts on “Word Wonders’ Reading and Blogging Round up

  1. How are you so productive?

    I’m glad to see that your Rebel of the Sands review gets so many views; honestly, I get so annoyed by all the glowing reviews that book gets from (mainly white) reviewers, and I always feel the urge to drop a link to your (and Fatima’s) review in their comments sections. But I worry that it’d be rude: you know, like, “Lovely review, except YOU ARE WRONG, GO READ THIS AND SEE HOW WRONG YOU ARE.”

    All the ships! I won’t lie, I finally binge-watched the first season of Shadowhunters for the sole purpose of watching Malec happen.

    Can’t wait to see how awesome your 2017 turns out to be!

    Like

    • I’m a sorceress but shhh it’s a secret!
      Yeah me too, and I see it recommended all over the place and I’m like WHY? Why that book out of all the actually amazing books that exist?
      I DO THAT HAHAHA. Now everytime I see it recommended or I see a glowing review I’m like Hi, that book is problematic AF so I’d appreciate you acknowledging that, and do far so good 😀
      I admit to that too, the only thing that’s making me watch it is all the Malec love that I feel.
      YAAY! And I hope yours will be as awesome as mine if not more ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG I remember our Never, Never buddy-read and how we could NOT stop freaking out about everything happening haha. I LOVED THIS and we need another buddy read as soon as possible. I needed to say this haha.
    Otherwise you had such an incredible year of blogging and reading! Crazy how blogging makes you read a THOUSAND times more, right? And makes your wallet empty and books devour your house as well hahaha.

    Like

  3. You had an excellent reading and blogging year in 2016! I distinctly remember your “To some, access to books is a Luxury.” post (actually it may have been what drew me to your blog in the first place?) and it really gave me a new perspective and made me realize how much I take my access to affordable books for granted. Definitely one of my favorite posts you have done!

    I am so honored to be featured on this post, especially with so many names of bloggers that I recognize, follow, and look up to myself. You made my day 🙂

    Like

  4. LOVE THIS POST! Despite 2016 being pretty whacky, this seems like an awesome blogging round up 😀 thanks so much for mentioning me and I feel really good for knowing most of the bloggers on that list.
    Also, I am glad you are a Jessa fan. I like Will but I will forever love Jem. But YES to all the couples! ALL. OF. THEM. ❤

    Like

  5. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: 1/9 – 1/15/17 | Cover2CoverMom
  6. شكرا للبالذكر انا، يا فادوة! انا سعيدة ان اعرفك! و ايضا، احب التصميم الجديد من بلوق الخاص بك!
    whew! that was quite the mental exercise, lol!

    Like

  7. Great recap post, and don’t worry I don’t think it’s too late to post one. If you’d posted this in June then maybe but January isn’t over yet and I’m still struggling to remember to write 2017 rather than 2016 while at work! 😀
    Thanks so much for the mention, it means a lot to me that you thought of me when coming up with bloggers you discovered last year. You’re definitely one of mine as well.
    Also I pretty much agree on all your OTPs as well. All of the Six of Crows couples were amazing (I just wish they all got a happy ending) and oh I really love Lila and Kell from the Shades of Magic series too.
    I have Homegoing on my to-read list. I think you were one of the bloggers who actually inspired me to add it to my to-read list in the first place. 🙂
    Great recap Fadwa, I hope you have an amazing 2017 as well! 😀 ❤

    Like

  8. This was my first year of blogging as well and it was so awesome! I read a tonne of books and surprised myself with how much I enjoyed writing and reading others discussion posts and reviews 🙂 Thank you so much for including me in your wrap up! Heres to another amazing reading year xD

    P.S I don’t know if I’ve told you yet but your theme looks AMAZING *heart eyes*

    Like

  9. Kell and Lila have such amazing chemistry, I can’t NOT ship them tbh. I don’t really ship anymore (I tend to ship when the characters are ambiguous about their feelings), but ADSOM/AGOS really managed to give me the ~feels~.

    And I really, really want to read Homegoing! It has like 18 reserves at my library, though, so I think it’ll take me a while still. 😛

    PS: Thank you for the shout-out! Your blog is beautiful and amazing and so are you, and I’m honoured to be on that list. ❤

    Like

  10. Aw, thank you so much for including me here ❤ I really appreciate it. You are one of my favorites, so it means a lot to be included 🙂
    You had a great year of blogging and reading. I love seeing this type of recaps because I read posts I might have missed. Your Rebel of the Sands review was great! Also, I need to read Homegoing so bad. I hope I find it soon.

    Like

  11. شكرا للبالذكر انا، يا فادوة! انا سعيدة للاعرفك! و ايضا، احب التصميم الجديد للمدونتك!
    whew! quite the mental exercise that was! sorry if it looks like i commented twice–it looked like my comment totally vanished the 1st time i tried commenting 😛

    Like

  12. Woop! That’s an amazing number of books your read there Fadwa! And I agree, all the ship from Crooked Kingdom is just amazing! Until now, I’m still confused if I ship Wessa or Jessa. All I know is I love Heronstairs haha! ❤ Have an amazing year ahead Fadwa! ❤

    Like

  13. Yes, totally 100% agree with your mandatory reading 😂 I want EVERYONE in the world to read Homegoing. There’s so many other great books here too that I really need to read!! I am about halfway through When the Moon was Ours and it’s beautiful!!

    Also, thank yo so much for the shout out. You’re honestly one of my fave people and I’m so glad we met ♥♥

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Thank you sooooo much for the shoutout Fadwa! 💙💙💙 you’re one of my favourite bloggers – your content is always amazingly put together and so so interesting! I am also in love with your new design and graphics. 😁 I’ll defo be taking some inspo from you when it comes to better blogging in 2017! Hope you’ve had an amazing start to the year! X

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Pingback: To Sum-up: January 2017 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

