Word wonders turns ONE: I answer all your questions

ertyu

Hello Guys !

I seriously cannot believe I’ve been around for a year and I never would have thought I’d make it to see the day where this little baby of mine would turn one. Because commitment issues and boredom. Yeah, yikes. But by some kind of miracle that didn’t happen with this blog and I don’t see a day where it will be happening because I’m loving it more and more each day. It boggles my mind how quickly time passes by, it genuinely doesn’t feel like a year has gone by. I’ve grown for sure, but I still feel like I just started (which in a way I just did, compared to the people who have been around for years).

Not gonna lie, blogging was harder some times more than others, because of how long writing posts takes and how much work goes into it, but for the most part it has been a wonderful journey that I’d never regret making the decision of starting. To be honest, I’m very tempted to make all this introduction a text of me screaming I LOVE IT I LOVE IT I LOVE IT. But I won’t. Because I want to show all of you how grateful I am that you have made this adventure an amazing one for me.

Thank you to each one of my followers for baring with my lame humor and rambly posts, especially those who always leave comments, you can’t imagine how much your kind words mean to me, they make my days a whole lot better and they put a huge smile on this face of mine.

And a special huge thanks to the friends I’ve made and without whom blogging and being on the internet everyday would never be same. They always have my back no matter what and that’s something I can never forget. Some of my best friends I met through blogging and you know who you are, you’re the ones I talk to everyday and to whom I go to with my every news I have, every new obsession, every rant and rave. Thousands of miles might separate us, but I’m determined to cross them one day and meet you. I LOVE YOU ❤

Okay, now that I’m done with the cheese and emotions, let’s start the Q&A, shall we?

1

What would your biggest dream be? What’s your actual dream job? Dream place you’d love to visit?Marie @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books.

My biggest dream is with no doubt to travel all around the world. There are so many beautiful places that I want to visit and I hope I’ll be lucky  one day to go and discover some of them. At the top of that list is either Greece or the Netherlands so yeah that’s my answer for dream place to visit haha. Dream job is the one I’m fortunate enough to be working towards right now which is being a Doctor, I’d also love to go on missions with organizations like Doctors without Borders, that’s my ultimate job goal.

How did you break your laptop screen with a scarf? -Meghan @ Whimsically Meghan.

This was such a ridiculous thing hahaha. So, to keep it short, I always wear one of those huge scarfs at home because it is freezing. A couple of weeks ago, I put my laptop on my desk and didn’t pay attention to the tip of that scarf which got stuck under the laptop (like seriously THE TIP, not even a big chunk), so when I turned around the scarf turned with me and it brought the laptop down with it. That’s how my laptop screen was shattered. Because of a scarf. Yep.

What is your favorite song at the moment? -Chloe @ The Chloe Douglas Blog & Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews.

I’M IN LOVE WITH THE SHAPE OF YOU. Okay, if you didn’t guess it’s Shape of You by Ed Sheeran. It always gets me jamming and dancing, and it instantly puts me in a good mood.

What show would you star in if you could and would your role be like? *cough* I am assuming it will be something in The Royals *cough* -Kat @ Life and Other Disasters.

You already guessed half the answer, didn’t you? hahaha. And I’m pretty sure who I’d want to be won’t come as a surprise either. I want to be Eleanor’s best friend. I love that girl so much and she’s had her fair share of betrayal and heartbreak for a life time so yeah I want to be her loyal royal bestie.

What’s your favorite Tv-show? -Angel @ Bookhearts Forever.

Read the question above hahaha. I’m completely obsessed with the Royals right now. It took over my life while I was binge watching the available seasons and now waiting for a new episode every week is painful and I have Kat to thank for that. She did it to me. And for those of you who don’t know, the Royals is about a fictious English royal family with a LOT of scandals and drama.

If money weren’t a problem, what are the top 3 places you’d want to visit? -Kat @ Life and Other Disasters.

  • Greece
  • The Netherlands
  • Italy

Someone fund my travellings. Please and thank you.

What’s your favorite food? -Reg @ She Latitude.

SUSHIIIIIS. I’ve literally eaten it every one of my birthdays for the past 3 years.

If you could live anywhere in the world other than where you are currently, where would it be? -Reg @ She Latitude.

It would be somewhere with easy access to English books and out of all the places that have that, London sounds the most appealing to me right now.

3

How long did it take until you personally felt like your blog was somewhat successful, in your opinion? -Mikaela @ The Well-thumber Reader.

Umm.. This is such an interesting question because I don’t see myself as a successful blogger in the literal sense of the term? But what I can say that I started feeling somewhat like that when I got more confident with my content as well as when I started having real friends that I don’t imagine myself without. That’s pretty much what success is to me. No big number or stats. Although those are really nice too haha.

What is one big lesson you’ve learnt from one year of blogging? -Anushka @ Going Through Books.

It’s not as easy as it seems. When I was thinking about starting, I thought “How hard can it be?”, and though it isn’t hard, it takes a lot of time, effort and commitment. From thinking up post ideas, writing them, graphics, promoting, visiting other blogs, etc… it takes a lot. But I love it so it doesn’t feel like a burden and it makes it all worth it.

Are you reading more of some genres since you started blogging? -Marie @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books & Melissa @ Booknerd Momo.

Fantasy and Historical Fiction. Which is funny because they’re now favorites of mine. I used to side-eye HF so much before even though I’ve always been a History Nerd si I don’t know why I thought I wouldn’t like them. As for Fantasy, I grew up subconciously thinking that they were for boys so I never even tried one before last year.

What kinds of posts are your favorites to write? – Gail @ Gail the Fabulaphile & Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews.

Discussions for sure. I get to ramble at my heart’s desire, I get to make my lame jokes -or be serious, depending on the topic- and I’m generally just more excited when the post I’m writing is a discussions versus everything else. I still love the other types of posts but these have my heart.

What advice would you give someone who is just starting out with their blog? -Tiana @ The Book Raven

Be yourself. I know that this is the generic advice that every blogger gives but it’s the most essential one. Don’t worry about what everyone else is writing about or how people would react to this or that kind of posts. We can’t all be saying the same things, what fun is that?From experience, the posts that have the most interaction are the genuine ones where I get personal and talk about things that really matter to me. Or the ones where my personality really shows.

What’s the first review you ever posted on your blog? And what differences do you see between that and the last one you posted? -Marta @ The Book Mermaid.

Ehehe, the first review I ever wrote was also the first post in general. It was my review for the Martian by Andy Weir and everything about it is different? haha. It didn’t have any structure (not saying it’s a bad thing, I just have the memory of a gold fish so I need structure to remember everything I want to say) while my reviews now are roughly sectioned and I also noticed that I’m way more critical now and I tend to notice things that I used to think back then “How does this blogger notice all those things?”

In an average week, how many hours do you spend reading and blogging? -Reg @ She Latitude.

Oh boy. Can a lot be the answer? No? Okay. I read on average 2hours a night on week days and around 4 on week ends so I read around 18 hours a week, could be more, could be less. As for blogging, I never paid attention but one post takes on average 2 hours + blog hopping, comments, etc… I’d say 10 hours is the minimum.

Is there anything you ever felt scared to post about on your blog?  Any issue you wish you could cover but are unconfident to do so in case of haters? -Hannah @ A Mortal Reader.

Yeah of course, I was really scared to get backlash from people who would twist my words when I posted “To some, access to books is a Luxury” and I also felt REALLY nervous when writing my post about “Reading Books at the wrong time” because I got very personal in that one.

Umm, I don’t think haters will ever stop me from speaking my mind, because at the end of the day this is my blog and I say whatever I want in it as long as I’m respectful and I don’t hurt anyone in the process. Yes I’m scared of being hated on at times, but I still talk about the things that matter to me.

Do you like when book bloggers talk about issues they’re passionate about? Such as feminism, climat change etc… -Hannah @ A Mortal Reader.

100% YES. Those are some of my favorites because they blog about things that are important to them and it can be very educational especially when I’m not very aware when it comes to the topics that are discussed.

What’s the most difficult thing about blogging for you ? -Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews.

Definitely keeping up with other blogs. With the amount of blogs that I follow, posts add up very quickly and with real like things + taking care of my own blog, it gets hard sometimes to find the time to read other bloggers’ posts.

When you started blogging a year ago, did you expect to be where you are now? -Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews.

Honestly? No. Not in the number of followers, not in the stats, not in the design, not in my place in the community, not in the relationships I gained. I NEVER would have thought that I’d get to 500 followers in a year, never would have thought that I’d meet people who’d become my best friends, that I’d get to interact with authors, and so on and so forth. I have so many things now that I never expected my blog to give me.

What’s been the proudest blogging moment of your first year?Sammie @ Bookshelves & Biros.

Umm… This is a really hard one, because I’ve had a lot o small proud moments, like reaching every milestone, changing my bog design and seeing how everyone responded to it, etc… My proudest one recently is when an author I love and admire reached out to me to help her work on something, that was really something very special to me, and something I would’ve never thought would happen.

How do you think blogging changed your personal life and your life as a reader?Sammie @ Bookshelves and Biros.

Well, first of all, I spend a lot of my free time working on my blog haha. No but more seriously, blogging changed me a lot as a person. I’m more confident in holding important discussions, I’m way more open-minded and critical in reading as well as in real life. As for my reading, last year I read more than three times what I used to read before starting my blog, I read more regularly and with a critical eye more often than not.

What’s one thing about blogging that you really struggled with when you first started your blog?Melissa @ Booknerd Momo.

Coming up with discussion topics was a real struggle for me at first. It’s not that I didn’t know what to talk about, it’s that I worried what people would think and if they would care about those things I want to talk about. But once I got over that, discussing different topics on here became a lot easier.

2

What Books have you read for your blog that changed your life or your perspective on the world in some way? -Diana @ Diana Prince Reviews.

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi and When the Moon was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore. They are both books I read last year and I can’t even begin to explain the kind of impact they had on me. That’s not even an exaggeration, I CAN’T FORM WORDS. But I have reviews for them which you can find here and here that try to explain why everyone should read both of those books. I’ll never shut up about them.

What made you want to start reading in English, since it’s not your native language? -Marie @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books.

I’ve never thought about it before but it just felt like the natural course of things, I started being fluent in English so translating that into my reading seemed like the right move to do. To be fair, I never like reading in my native language haha, I used to read in French before that and some translations can be pretty bad, if they are even available that is.

Would you rather have a bedroom with bookshelves all around the walls or an actual room dedicated to books? -Marie @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books.

MARIE I THOUGHT WE WERE FRIENDS! Why you do this to me. I’m very tempted to steal Kat’s answer for this one because it sounds awesome but no. I think I will take a room dedicated to books.

What fairytales/stories do you wish there were more retellings of? -Tiana @ The Book Raven.

The Twelve Dancing Princesses was one of my favorite stories growing up and I only manages to find one retelling for it (which I haven’t read yet) so I definitely want more of it. Hansel and Gretel is one that would definitely be interesting with a modern twist.

What Books did you love reading while Growing up? -Tiana @ The Book Raven.

The Grimm brothers Fairytales, the kid friendly ones obviously not the creepy ones. I also devoured all the Famous Five books by Enid Blyton, I lived for that group of friends’ adventures.

If you could read only one genre for the rest of your life which would it be? -Kat @ Life and Other Disasters.

Why are my friends evil? And why do you hate me? Uuuuh… I’m torn between Fantasy and Contemporary, I love all the the different worlds Fantasy has to offer but contemporary was my first love so that’s probably what I’d choose. Contemporary.

Imagine you had the power to read a character out of a book and get them to live in ours, who would it be? -Kat @ Life and Other Disasters.

Again. Evil. I would probably choose Nina Zenik from Six of Crows because her love for food made my life and I feel like we would be great friends, and she’s relatively harmless… even though those powers of hers are frightening.

If you could take the place of one main character and live their journey who would you pick and why?Beth @ Reading Every Night.

Probably Jordan from Noteworthy by Riley Redgate. The MC is such a funny, relatable girl. She also joins an A capella group and goes on a little cross-dressing experiment that would definitely be interesting. Keep a look out for it once it comes out in May, you don’t want to miss out.

What Book  world do you wish was real? -Beth @ Reading Every Night.

The Wizarding World is a pretty standard answer isn’t it? haha. Well, it’s either that or Red London, though I’m very nervous about this one because of how A Gathering of Shadows ended, I don’t think it’s safe anymore, so it being real is probably a bad idea.

Is there a book you’ve read that was bad that you wish you could go back and stop yourself from picking up? -Beth @ Reading Every Night.

No? Don’t get me wrong, I read my fair share of bad books but I don’t regret any of them because at least I can warn other people, especially in the case of problematic books.

Who is your favorite bookish character and why? -Angel @ Bookhearts Forever.

LILA BARD from the Shades of Magic trilogy. If you read those books, you already know why she is my favorite because how can you not love her? She’s so sassy, witty and cunning. A very flawed but very lovable character.

If you could trade places with any villain in any book, which one would it be and why?Melissa @ Booknerd Momo

I don’t think trading places with a villain would be very smart hahaha. They all end up dead or stripped of power or something. I’d much rather be on the other side of that scenario. So, no trading places with a villain for me.

What’s your favorite bookish quote? Sammie @ Bookshelves and Biros.

It’s a quote from none other than the glorious book that has ruined all fantasy for me, Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo.

Crooked Kingdom.png

Well, that’s it for this Q&A, I LOVED answering al these questions, some were really fun, others made me think. They’re all around awesome, so thank you for taking time to ask me ❤


That’s it until next time.

Do you have any other questions? I’ll be happy to answer in the comments.

I’d also love to get to know all of you, so answer some of these questions in the comments if you’d like.

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

 

 

 

 

49 thoughts on “Word wonders turns ONE: I answer all your questions

  1. I love that you called Nina relatively harmless when she could literally kill us with the movement of a hand hahaha but great answers, not just to my questions but EVERYTHING! And who wouldn’t want to be Len’s bff? She needs a constant in her life.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, happy blogiversary (I don’t think I’m spelling that right, but whatever)! 😂 I also can’t imagine sticking around for a year because I’ve only been around for little over a month, but it’s fun so far, and I’m hoping I don’t get bored with it! 😄 And the answer to my question is so lovely! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. HAPPY BLOGIVERSARY MY TWINNIE. I am so happy to have met you thanks to blogging, and you’re just a FABULOUS BLOGGER and friend, you are the best ❤
    I loved reading all of your answers to this, and sorry for being cruel about that bookshelves question haha. Also, I think our main goal is life should be to both be rich and be able to travel to these countries you're talking about. And if you're moving to London, well we need to be roomates with Kat haha, just imagine ALL OF THE CRAZINESS HERE.
    OH AND THAT THE ROYALS ANSWER? When are you auditionning? Because I am dying to see that, haha it would be SOOO awesome to be honest haha. (Also, tomorrow is the new episode and I might be slightly excited about it, hahaha).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy blogiversary!! ❤
    I'm completely obsessed with Shape of You too. It's always on the radio, which doesn't really help with me trying to think of other songs haha
    Having a memory of a goldfish must be better than having a memory of a dead goldfish (that's what my best friend says about me 😛 )

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love your answers, your answers to mine are just what I needed to hear to push myself to post more about things that are important to me. I’m actually currently reading a book called Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates and I knew immediately I wanted to talk about it on my blog, but part of me was like ‘nobody will want to here about it’ or it could be the fact I grew up in a small town where I was told just not to bother with it and too keep quiet. Also people in this small town seem to think feminism is bad, like its all man hating but its not.
    I’m actually only like 150 pages in so far but its so fascinating, I need to not be scared to post my ideas and thoughts and just go with it don’t I!

    Also I loved how we got to learn more about you, especially the scarf story with your laptop!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great answers for all these questions Fadwa. The Wizarding World is a standard answer for what book world people would like to visit but Red London is actually becoming a standard answer of mine, though actually I’ve never thought about how the ending of A Gathering of Shadows could change that (god I need the last book like right this second!).
    I love The Netherlands so I hope you get the visit there soon, same with Italy actually, they’re both beautiful countries. And oh I love sushi as well, I’ve been craving it lately so I may have to see if I can convince someone to come get some with me! 😀
    Also happy blogiversary. Congratulations on making it one year on WordPress and here’s hoping it’s the beginning of many more as well! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ahhh, how did I miss the chance to ask you questions?!?! HAPPY BLOGIVERSARY, FADWA!!!! Everytime I visit your blog it is always even better than the last time I visited. Your blog is one of most sophisticated & creative that I’ve ever had the pleasure to stop by, so thank you for adding such great content to the blogisphere! ❤ Here's to even more AWESOME years to come for you and your blog! 😀

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Happy Blogiversary! 😀 That’s so sad how it was just a part of the scarf that took the whole laptop down. I swear it’s always the little things that do the worst damage!
    I loved reading all your answers. It really looks like you’ve had a full year of blogging! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Happy Blogiversary!! I loved reading your answers for this so much, Fadwa! See, I’m a huge history nerd too but haven’t really ventured into the historical fiction genre yet. I so need to and hope to this year because of all the ones recommended to me on here. And I actually struggled with coming up with discussions topics too and still do sometimes. Also, you make a valid point about villains lol. 😊
    I’m so with you on the Wizarding World. I can’t say about Red London yet as I haven’t read ADSOM just yet. It’s next on my list after I finish my current reads. And your favorite quote!! I love that quote so much! I officially want to reread Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you ❤❤ oh you should, you won’t regret it! Aah yaay!!
      Yeah discussion posts can be tricky sometimes, I’m always scared I’ll run out of ideas.
      YOU HAVE TO READ ADSOM OMG !!!
      I recently got physical copies of the duology and I’ve been itching to reread ever since though I won’t do it haha

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome!!
        Same here. My main problem is having ideas but no time to actually put them into writing. 🙈
        I plan on it! This month I’m doing my Bone Season reread and reading The Song Rising and the next month is all about ADSOM. 😁

        Liked by 1 person

  10. OH GOSH how did I miss the Q&A!! I would have asked the most AMAZING and most RELEVANT and most IMPORTANT-EST of questions, such as ‘Fadwa, why are you so amazing?’ and ‘Fadwa, can you teach me to be amazing like you?’ and ‘Fadwa, when I grow up, I want to be just like you… please?’

    But in all seriousness, HAPPY BLOGIVERSARY my dearest friend! ❤ I’m so proud of you and your blog is AMAZING. Honestly? One of my favourites. ❤

    And omg, that quote. I haven’t read CK yet but when I read that quote, I shall think of you. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • HOW ARE YOU SUCH AN AMAZING HUMAN BEING AND FRIEND CW? 😍 You’re seriously too sweet to me.
      Thank you and you can’t imagine how much that means to me, because I don’t know if I ever told you but your blog was -is- my biggest inspiration and the first blog I visited and thought “wow I want mine to be as good someday”.
      Yaay! I hope you read it soon and love it as much as I do 💙

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Happy blogiversary, Fadwa, and thank you for answering all those questions! I really enjoyed reading this post. ❤

    Sushi is THE BEST and I think I could probably exist on it alone. And your answer re: Jordan from Noteworthy is so perfect – I finished that book a couple of weeks ago and would LOVE to join an a capella group, especially given my Pitch Perfect obsession.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I know this is super late but CONGRATS on one year blogging! Such a wonderful milestone that I myself will be hitting later this month. I really enjoyed reading all your answers in the post and getting to know you a little better. You are definitely a blogger that I look up to for many different reasons. So happy I came across your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: To Sum-up: January 2017 | Word Wonders
  14. I know this is ridiculously late, but now that I’m off my hiatus I HAD to comment.

    I absolutely loved reading all your answers ♥ I really wish I was better at discussions 😂😂 Totally with you about not expecting to be where you are within a year. You and your blog are both so wonderful though so it’s not a surprise that you’ve achieved so much!! Congrats on a (belated) year and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for you and your blog next 😘!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

