Award #15: Here comes the Sun…

award-sunshine

Hello guys !

I’m here today for a second round of the Sunshine Blogger Award. I did the first one a gazillion years ago so I thought it was okay to do it again now haha. Plus, the question vary a lot so I don’t risk being repetitive. This time around I was tagged by Marta @ The Book Mermaid, thank you so much for nominating me. And also, I slept on it for so long, which kind of made the last question kind of irrelevant right now haha. That being said, we’ll work with it.

sans-ghj.png

The Rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  • Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write then 11 new questions. (I’m lazy)
  • List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or on your blog.

The Questions:

1. What are you currently reading?

sandhya-menon-when-dimple-met-rishi

I’m currently reading nothing, it’s a very interesting book, 100% would recommend. Okay, no joke. I finished God Smites and other Muslim Girl problems yesterday (I’m writing this post on Sunday) and it was such a fun mystery. And I’m planning on starting When Dimple met Rishi by Sandhya Menon once I’m done blogging. And my excitement for it cannot be contained. I CAN’T WAIT.

2. What is your reading goal for this year?

Quantity wise, I put my goal at 60 books which is a very comfortable number for me as I was able to read nearly 80 books last year and I’m even 5 books ahead of schedule right now. So it’s safe to say that if I keep this up, it’ll be easy to reach my goal. Quality wise, I want to read mainly diverse books, which I already implemented in my reading and I’m very happy with it, and I really want to focus more on #Ownvoices books, which are the books by marginalized authors who write about their own marginalization.

3. Do you prefer sun or rain while reading?

Both? It depends on the book and where I am. If I am snuggled at home with a sad book, I like it to be rainy outside to set the right mood haha. But if I’m reading a happy kind of book with a lot of fluff and cuteness, I ideally like to sit outside in the sun. I say ideally because I am lazy and I do pretty much all my reading inside the house.

4. Can you describe the last book you read in five words?

33816139

As I said the last book I read is God Smites and Other Muslim girl Problems by Ishara Deen. The five words are: Honest – Funny – Fast read – Mystery.

5. Do you have any shelf dedicated to a specific series? If yes, do you keep there anything else related to it other than the books?

No I don’t, all in all, I only have one shelf of physical books. I only started buying physical copies a few months ago after a long while of figuring out the way that would ruin me the least. I’m really happy with it and I think that even if I had more book I wouldn’t have a shelf dedicated to one series just because I’m not a collector and I’d rather buy other books than other editions of ones I already own.

6. Who are your favorite female characters of all time?

Inej and Nina from Six of Crows. Shocker I know, but I love those girls to death and the way they have each other’s backs gives me life. Yael from Wolf by Wolf because she’s kick-ass and her character development is incredible. Last but not least, Lila from the Shades of Magic trilogy because how can I not? She’s stabtastic all the while being very soft on the inside. Really deep inside though. I wouldn’t recommend you trying to mess with her.

7. What is your favorite item on your shelves and why?

My books? hahaha. Okay, no, item. I’m not home right now so let me think for a second or two. I’d say it’s my Six of Crows notebook which also doubles as my journal which I love writing in. It’s a mess of my thoughts, notable events and any other idea that crosses my mind and I think would make a cute spread.

8. What is your favorite tv show at the moment?

I’m kind of in an in between phase where my latest obsession -the Royals- is on a break and I’m caught up with all the other tv-shows I watch haha, and I’ve been watching them for so long that none can qualify as my favorite “at the moment”. I’m thinking of starting a few but I can’t decide on which one to start with. Sigh. Life is hard.

9. What was your biggest reading disappointments of this year?

Benjamin Alire Sàenz - The Inexplicable Logic of my Life.jpg

Easy. The Inexplicable Logic of my Life by Benjamin Alire Saenz. I expected to love it and I would have… if it weren’t a problematic mess. I am baffled and disappointed and frustrated. For a more in depth look into my thoughts, here’s the review I posted last Friday.

10. Do you usually write a bookish Christmas wishlist or let your family pick whatever they think you’d like?

I don’t celebrate Christmas but generally speaking I never make wishlists because I’m a sucker for surprises. My family knows me pretty well because I make sure to shout about all the things I love at every occasion haha. So I’ve never ever been disappointed with anything they got me.

11. What book you must finish before the end of 2016?

*awkward silence* *cricket noise* Umm… We kind of are in 2017 now that I’ve finally gotten around to doing this so I’m not sure how or if to answer this question. I’M SORRY I SUCK OKAY?


That’s it until next time.

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

 

12 thoughts on “Award #15: Here comes the Sun…

  1. OMG I have heard so many raves about When Dimple Met Rishi and it sounds amazing! Great work with your GR goal so far, you’ve done super well to be ahead already. YESSS Inej and Nina are definitely awesome! I haven’t read the other series though. Your Six of Crows notebooks sounds absolutely stunning. Nooo, I’m so sorry to hear about Inexplicable Logic of my Life! Will be heading to read your review soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am almost done and I AM SO DEEPLY IN LOVE WITH IT, it’s so authentic, honest, funny and romantic. Absolutely amazing !!
      Thank you, Jeann 😘 I’d recommend reading them, they’re favorites of mine, especially Shades of Magic.
      It iiiis, I wanted to take a picture of it for the post but completely forgot 😂

      Like

  2. Congratulations on being nominated again! I also share your love for Inej and Nina now, I must go onto the second book soon!
    I find them to be unlike characters i’ve read before and Six of Crows as a whole actually which is such a blessing when you’ve read a bunch of fantasy to find a book that truly stands out. You got me really in love!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s seriously too bad about The Inexplicable Logic of my Life. I adored Aristotle and Dante and was seriously exited about this book, buuut hearing that it’s soo problematic saddens me.
    Okay. I ADORE all the female characters that you mentioned as your favourites!! Inej and Nina are simply wonderful and I love them and their friendship! ❤ Yael is one of the strongest characters that I have ever read about. And Lila is also wonderful, I love how ruthless she is. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. When Dimple met Rishi sounds amazing, and it’s one of this year’s releases I have to get my hands on (I feel like I’m always the last person to read recently released books, unless I get them from Netgalley haha)! And honestly, I could shout as much as I want that I need that book in my life, that my parents would only get the hint if I write it down :/
    Congrats on your goodreads goal! This year I’m aiming for 50 books and I’m one (actually two, because I just finished a book today) books ahead of schedule, but this won’t last for long 😛
    Thank you for answering (and don’t worry about being late) ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: To sum-up: March 2017 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

