Queens of Geeks – Cuteness, Geekiness and all the Feels

Queens of Geek.png

Publication date : March 14th, 2017goodreads

Publisher : Swoon Reads

Genre : Young Adult | Contemporary

Page Count: 288

Synopsis : When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.
Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Jason Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.
While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.
Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.
 (From Goodreads)

Rating: 5 stars

sdfghj.png

 

*I received an Arc of this book from the publishers through Netgalley in exchange of an honest review*

(No Spoilers)

SWOONS. SQUEALS. SCREAMS. AAAAH ALL THE HEART EYES AND LOVE TO THIS BOOK. Lo and behold, this is my first 5 stars rated fiction book of the year, so it’s something to celebrate. I’m completely and irrevocably in love with this book, the characters, their romances, the issues it discusses. It does everything right. It’s an #Ownvoices book at its finest. I really felt the authenticity and honesty of it. I want to talk about all the things this book stands for but my words are failing me, they jumble up in my head, collide and combust into fairy dust, rainbows and unicorn poops.

The writing is fun, fast paced and very quotable. I genuinely want to get myself a physical copy just to tab all the parts I loved. Queens of Geek is written in duel POV through Charlie and Taylor’s eyes and it was fantastic because both girls are very different and still manage to have a beautiful friendship. Aside from the classic formatting of the text, the book also has text conversations as well as Tumblr posts that Taylor types on the spot.

Queens of Geek is the book all of us proud nerds have always wanted but never knew we needed. I can’t begin to describe how happy this book made me, it is so heartwarming that just thinking about it puts the biggest smile on my face. So many pop cultures references and relatable fangirling moments that I’m pretty sure everyone can relate with, especially if you’ve been to a convention -I haven’t- because the vibe is so well encompassed in the pages of the book.

The romances are INCREDIBLE. Both of them. Both are two of my favorite tropes. The first one being bestfriends to lovers, Taylor and Jamie have been friends for years, in love for years as well and everyone knows it but them. They act like this adorable old couple but without the coupley stuff, and I lived for the awkward moments each time they started getting too intimate, it was so real, relatable and just funny. I specifically loved seeing them through Charlie’s eyes, she had this “KISS ALREADY” attitude that was hilarious. The second one is an F/F fan to lover type romance, except that both girls having been fans of each other for years, harvesting these innocent crushes that developed into more once they met. I must admit that this one evolves much more quickly and can feel like instalove but it isn’t because the girls knew each other beforehand.

Taylor is such a smart, kind and strong girl who’s into everything book related. She’s a neuro-diverse character on the autism spectrum (Asperger’s to be more specific) who has anxiety and what I loved most of all is how none of it defined her, her story wasn’t about it, it was about her being a fangirl, going to a convention, having a crush on her bestfriend and spending a great time with her friends. Her anxiety was always there and so well explained and dealt with. As she put it:

“Anxiety isn’t an attack that explodes out of me; it’s not a volcano that lies dormant until it’s triggered by an earth-shattering event. It’s a constant companion.”

but she kept challenging it as best as she could, meeting new people, doing things she wouldn’t normally do and I honestly loved that. I also adored the body-positivity in this book, how Taylor was totally and utterly comfortable with the way she looked and didn’t care one bit what people might think. Also, this might seem weird to you but SHE WEARS GLASSES, do you know how rare that is in books?

Charlie is a force of life. She’s a proud Chinese-American bisexual youtuber and rising actress with pink hair (hence the cover) who’s confident, empathetic and sensitive. What I admired is how she wasn’t portrayed as this almighty, fearless creature. She had her doubts too, was scared of falling in love after a tough break up and needed her friends as much as they needed her. I liked how through Charlie, the author addressed biphobia in the form of her ex-boyfriend who was a total tool and couldn’t wrap his head around how her  being with him and being bisexual could coexist. On the other hand, Alyssa, her crush, was so patient and reassuring, and made sure to hear her and make her comfortable, she also planned the most perfect date for the two of them.

Jamie is the softest, most caring boy ever, he’s quite frankly redefined the meaning of book boyfriend. He was inseparable from Jamie and had -figuratively- “protect Taylor at all costs” written on his forhead. He knew when to be there for her and when to give her space, he was just honestly perfect.

The three of them make such an amazing trio of friends who plan their futures while making sure to always be around each other. I lived for their banter and healthy friendship, how they understood when one of them -aka Charlie- needed to go off and spend time with her crush and encouraged it instead of getting mad because she didn’t spend all her time with them. I especially loved Charlie and Taylor, they had such a supportive friendship when despite of having their own problems, found time to listen to each other and be there.

All in all, this book is the perfect mix of cheesiness, adorable banter and dealing with important issues. I adored it and would recommend it to everyone, their mom, their neighbor and their neighbor’s dog. GO GET IT AS SOON AS IT IS OUT. You won’t regret it.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Queens of Geek? If so, what did you think?

Which romance was your favorite? And which character did you relate with the most?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

 

 

 

32 thoughts on “Queens of Geeks – Cuteness, Geekiness and all the Feels

  1. So weird, until you mentioned Jamie’s pronoun I thought that he was a girl. 😀 Everyone is so in love with this book, maybe I should really give it a try – I’m so hesitant because of the cover and I did want to read more fantasy books in the next months.

    Taylor wears glasses??? Is the representation good? I just read a really bad one, so I want to make sure.

    I hope you don’t mind me saying this, it’s rather difficult for me to read the yellow font 😦 .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. i mean, you’re welcome. 💗
    i could go on and on and on about how i love this book and how freaking amazing it is, i honestly feel blessed to have been provided with an ARC. this book is just fantastic-ness as its finest. i loved it loved it loved it. i related so much to the characters (especially taylor), and each one of them held a part of me.
    ANYWAYS, i should stop, because i would probably never stop writing this comment if i don’t. wonderful review! 💘✨

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great review! I’m glad to see that you enjoyed this book. 🙂 I don’t usually read contemporary, it’s just not genre that I enjoy reading. BUT this book seems very interesting and like something I would enjoy a lot. I’ll definitely be adding it to my TBR for when I’m in a contemporary mood.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: QUOTES CHALLENGE- DAY 3 – Mystery Date With a Book
  5. THANK YOU FOR VOICING MY THOUGHTS haha I adored this book, but everything I could think about when I finished it was pwkfwkedlfjerwpdkmwk SO CUTE ❤ haha, my review is soooo confusing and simple. anyways, GREAT REVIEW 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Another stellar review for this book! I’ve been hearing nothing but good things and it makes even more excited to read it. I’ve been in a contemporary slump and this one (along with You’re Welcome, Universe) seems like just the thing I might need to get me out of it. Great review as always, Fadwa!! 💕😊

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love your review 💕 I’m still so obsessed with this book, it was pure perfection and every time I think about it it makes me smile! I just really love the repeatability of everything and all the characters along with the diversity. The romance was so perfect and swoon-worthy and all the characters were amazing! I’m going to recommend this until everyone has read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: To sum-up: March 2017 | Word Wonders
  9. You put everything I loved about this book so well in this review ❤ I don't know how you do it! When I like a book, my mind goes blank and all I want to do is like "LOVED IT! READ IT! NEXT!", but you really found all the right words.

    Like

  10. This is such an awesome review that kind of puts me to shame but NO WORRIES, I am going to learn from the master Fadwa so I can write better reviews. You covered so much of what I wanted to write in such a good coherent way! Also: my favorite romance was Taylor and Jaime because I’m a sucker for a plus size girl getting into the lap of anyone… it’s sort of my favorite trope too. The whole mutual pining and not knowing if the other loves them as much as they love the other. It’s kind of perfect in this book because not for one minute did I huff and complain about how angsty and unbearable it felt to read the pining, it was a perfectly paced book. Although Taylor’s before last chapter felt like too much of a “they lived happily ever after,” her tumblr post wrapped things up so nicely. Plus, everyone had such great banter that made me ache to find someone who’d have this kind of relationship with plus all the kissing of course 🙂 Thank you so much for this review, I’m so glad I got to read QoG and this review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • If by master you mean master rambler then I’m your girl 😂, I just wing it and hope for the best lmao. Plus your reviews are awesome, what are you talking about??
      I’m glad I was able to put all your thoughts into words though because this review was HARD. So yay ❤
      Taylor is so badass, I love her and her adorable romance to pieces. Yep yep, I 100% agree, pining can be frustrating most of the time but it was so well done here.
      The kissing is so important haha I want that too tbh
      Aww of course 💞💞

      Like

Leave a Reply

