TAG #33: Seasons of Book blogging

Tags.png

Hello guys !

My list of tags to do has slowly been going down and it has never been as reduced as it is now since… I started blogging. And I’ve been thinking whether or not to continue with them once I’m done with the ones I currently have or do something entirely different. Decisions, decisions. Anyway, that’s not our topic today. I’m here with The Seasons of Book blogging tag for which I was tagged by Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions. Thank you so much! It was created by J @ J. Bookish.

The Rules:

  • Thank the creator (so she can see all of your answers!) and the person who tagged you.
  • Begin with the month in which you have been tagged and move forward from there!
  • State the best gift you’ve ever been given after you answer the question for your birthday month.
  • Tag whomever you’d like when you’re finished.. or else you’ll be “it” forever.
  • Have fun, of course!

Book cover = Goodreads page

1

Jen Wilde - Queens of Geek .jpg

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde. THIS. BOOK. IS. SO. ADORABLE. I can’t with it, in addition to that, it is important and the representation in it is incredible. It has an amazing friendship, two very swoon-inducing romances, geekiness, AND underlying -no less important- issues that need to be addressed in books.

2I’ve made a post about my resolutions for this year here and I’m on track with all of them. Most books I’ve been reading are diverse, I’m still reviewing my book a week without fail, I started talking about issues that matter to me, (see this post about Muslim representation, this one about Problematic Books and this one about Intersectional Feminism). I also started going to the gym again last week and I journal at least 2 times a week. So yeah, I’d call that a success. For now.

3

anna-marie-mclemore-when-the-moon-was-ours

You’ve probably guessed it because this book has my soul. And Sam and Miel from When the Moon was Ours are the realest pairing I’ve ever read about with the most heartwarming relationship I’ve ever read, they’re best friends before being in a romantic relationship and they’d do anything for each other because they care deeply. Thanks a lot! Now I want to read more about them *sobs*.

4

Leigh Bardugo - Six of Crows #1        Leigh Bardugo - Six of Crows #2

Oh boy. I’ll never not love Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. It ruined all YA Fantasy for me for the rest of times because of how amazing and unique it is. The characters feel real and are viciously awesome, the word-building is A+ and I just want to read it, re-read it and re-re-read it with a fresh mind. I WILL re-read them, probably sometime this year but it will never be that first time feeling with the discovery, excitement and fear for my babies. Oh and the hope. The hope that they’ll all be okay won’t be there.

5

20643052

I… am… sorry. But this Ink & Bone by Rachel Caine wasn’t for me. Way too slow, the characters were alright, and I generally just had very high expectations for it that didn’t come close to being met? I gave it 3.5 stars which was alright but the second book was a DNF. Not that it was bad (albeit, a bit problematic) it just bored me and lost my interest and I had books I was SO excited about to get to. So yeah!

6

riley-redgate-noteworthy

Noteworthy by Riley Redgate was the most pleasant surprise, a definite 5 stars, a new favorite. An amazing, quiet, coming-of-age story about finding one’s self while pretending to be someone else with a lot of nuanced conversations about social issues that are very present and very real in today’s societies. All of this while being light, cute and having its laugh-out-loud moments. READ IT.

7

Contemporary for sure. I’ve been on a kind of Contemporary streak… which I don’t normally do because I get bored easily, but with the bunch of diverse, adorable books I’ve been reading lately, with all of them having different story, I strangely didn’t mind. I turned to the genre in the last month because I was starting to burn out and I needed a break from Fantasy and Historical Fiction. Now I feel like I’m ready to resume my usual reading pattern though.

8

sandhya-menon-when-dimple-met-rishi

When Dimple met Rishi by Sandhya Menon. THIS BOOK IS SO CUUUUUTE. I had all the heart eyes and love for it once I finished it a couple of days ago. First of all, it’s positive arranged marriage representation and then the main characters have such easy banter, and are different but so similar that they were just meant to be, or as they both put it. Kismet.

9

29640839

Laura Silverman, no doubt. Her debut Girl out of Water is such an amazing story about getting out of your comfort zone, family, friendship and a little bit of a summer romance. And I. Adored. it. Keep an eye out for it and grab it as soon as it is out. You won’t regret it, thank me later.

10

Victor Hugo - Les misérables

I always use the same book for this. Les Misérables by Victor Hugo is probably the only book that we read for school and I enjoyed. I remember only vaguely what it is about because I read it at least 8 years ago, if not more haha. So forgive my memory.

11

A Darker Shade final for Irene

Lila from A Darker Shade of Magic, she’d be relatively easy to dress up as, all you need is black clothes which I have plenty of and a horned mask which is… doable. She’s just one of my favorites so I’d love to be her for just a day.

12

paul-kalanithi-when-breath-becomes-air

When Breath becomes Air is the memoir of a neurosurgeon and it is so damn inspirational, I cried at one point because of how relatable to me it was and how hard it hit me. Dr. Kalanithi unfortunately died from Stage IV lung cancer and this book has not only his experiences while he was sick but the ones from before as well. All the notable moments from his life are wrapped up in this powerful book. My favorite part was definitely while he was in medschool.


I Tag:


That’s it until next time.

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

8 thoughts on “TAG #33: Seasons of Book blogging

  1. Six of Crows ruined Fantasy for me too, there will never be another book like it. I just finished When Dimple Met Rishi and it’s so cute! I also loved that book. I have yet to read a VE Schwabb book, that needs to change.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: To sum-up: March 2017 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

