The Paths we Choose – Where a Girl with Pink Hair Finds her *Maybe*

The Paths we Choose.png

Series : Lillac Town #2

Publication date : April 6th, 2017goodreads

Publisher : Self-published

Genre : New Adult | Contemporary

Page Count : 118

Synopsis : Lily Ferrari enjoys having control over every detail of her life. Ever since she left her parents’ house to gain her freedom, she decided to fully own her autonomy. But an unexpected visit from her little brother may change the path she chooses to follow.
Add to that a casual fling with the bright architect Mayte González, and Lily’s summer is turning out more interesting than she expected. It certainly beats the routine of working extra shifts at Johnson’s Bookstore.
A few weeks before her college life begins, Lily needs to figure out if she’s wrong about the past or if she should continue to protect her heart at all costs.
Sometimes moving forward is only possible if you have the right people by your side.
 

Rating : 4 stars

The Paths we Choose Quote

*I received an ecopy of this book from the author in exchange of an honest review*

(No Spoilers)

Today is an exciting day, because today is the first time in forever I post a review less than a week after finishing the book. Anyway, I’m not here to brag but to review this delightful book. A few weeks back, as I was trying to find diverse New Adult books to read this one called The Melody of You and Me (which I yet have to read *hides in shame) kept coming up so I decided to add it to my TBR and follow the author and just as I did, she was sending out Arcs for the second book is the companion series, I applied and GOT IT. I was so excited because I was hearing only great things. And the people were right, Maria Hollis knows how to write her F/F romances.

The writing, is good, simple and sturdy. No over flowery imagery or anything which I really appreciated because this way I could give 100% of my focus to the romance. The Paths We Choose is written from Lily‘s point of view, a Brazilian girl who is such a peculiar character. And no, peculiar isn’t bad, I actually cherish her very much. Let me explain myself. Lily has resting bitch face (me), often comes off as bitchy because she’s blunt and sarcastic (also me), she’s the mom of the group (guess what? me!), I could relate so much to every decision she’s made that it started creeping me out -in a good way. All of this being said, she’s a fantastic character, caring, loving and passionate.

I really loved how Mayte balanced her out. She’s a bisexual black cuban girl, very chill and easy going, she reminds her to breathe when she gets too intense. She’s also very sweet and loving. Can we talk about their romance? (well, yeah we can since it’s the major part of the story) It’s the most precious thing, it’s also sexy, very sexy. Anyway, I loved how their relationship progressed from a casual thing to this situation where they were willing to give a chance to a serious relationship. I also deeply appreciated how the author included a talk about boundaries as well as what they were and weren’t okay with sex wise. That’s something all books should have but that is unfortunately not very common.

One little quibble I had is that it felt a tiny (really, just a tiny) bit rushed and I would’ve wanted a bit more build up but considering how short the book is (it’s a novella) it’s perfectly understandable. And another thing is how cheesy that last scene was, I laughed sooo much but it was kind of cute as well and the epilogue made up for it because it was the MOST cozy, adorable thing ever.

The Paths we Choose branches out from the romance a bit, it gets into Lily’s relationship with her estranged family especially her teenage brother as he tries to make amends and actually be there for her. Another non-romantic part I absolutely adored is her friendship with her roommates, they’re absolute squad goals. Hope, Karen and Anika are always there for her to smack her on the back of the head and push her in the right direction and they’re family to her.

All in all this was a very quick to read, cute story that made me want to read about all the other characters, I now want and will read The Melody of You and Me in the next few weeks and I’m looking forward to reading book 3 because it’s about Hope and Karen which I predicted from reading this one so I’m VERY excited. The Paths we Choose is coming out tomorrow, so be sure to get it, you won’t regret it!


That’s it until next time.

Did you read The Paths We Choose? If so, what did you think?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

