Out on Good Behavior – The Cute Book that got me Back into New Adult

Out On Good Behavior.png

Series: Radleigh University #3

Publication date : June 14th, 2016goodreads

Publisher : Self-published

Genre : New Adult | Contemporary

Page Count: 290

Synopsis : Frankie Bellisario knows she can get anyone she sets her sights on, but just because she can doesn’t mean she should—not when the person she’s eyeing is Samara Kazarian, the daughter of a southern Republican mayor. No matter how badly Frankie wants to test her powers of persuasion, even she recognizes some lines aren’t meant to be crossed.
But when Frankie learns she’s been on Samara’s mind too, the idea of hooking up with her grows too strong to resist. Only Sam’s not looking for a hookup; she wants—needs—the real thing, and she’s afraid she’ll never find it as long as Frankie’s in her head.
Forced to choose between her first relationship and losing the girl who’s been clawing her way under her skin, Frankie opts to try monogamy…under her own condition: 30 days of keeping things on the down low and remaining abstinent. If she fails as hard at girlfriending as she’s afraid she might, she doesn’t want to throw Samara’s life into upheaval for nothing. But when neither the month nor Frankie’s heart go according to plan, she may be the one stuck fighting for the happily ever after she never knew she wanted.
(From Goodreads)

Rating : 3.5 stars

Out On Good Behavior Quote

No New Adult in a year and then two in a month, WHAT DO YOU MEAN? It means that I got back into it and freaking loving it. This is another companion series I’m reading out of order. When will I ever learn? This is also the book that showed me just how much I missed reading about people my age which means that you’ll be seeing more NA on the blog (YA will still be predominant, fret not). This is another one I’ve been hearing a lot about when asking about F/F NA romances and I wasn’t disappointed. It’s real, cute and just very down to earth.

The writing is witty and funny from our main character, Frankie’s POV and guess what she is? Yes, you’re right, she’s witty and funny. One problem I had with the writing itself was how redundant some sentences are, especially “turns me to liquid”, I like the imagery, I get it, but once it’s used every other page I just start rolling my eyes because it starts feeling cliché and out of place. Other than that the writing was good and easy on the eye.

Frankie is a pansexual artist, which I loved reading about because if I have a soft spot for a type of characters, it’s artists. She’s smart, witty and very scared of commitment (relatable af) and it was really cute and funny to see someone like that slowly turn soft and mushy as she started developing feelings for Samara. Samara is everyone of us in our twenties reading YA books, she loves getting lost in books and I appreciated that very much. She’s sweet, gentle and very caring. From first glance she’s very shy and conservative but she isn’t (not as much as she seems to be at least), she’s just scared of an accidental outing especially with her parents being bigots.

Speaking of which, one of the few problems I had with the book is that considering how big the part her parents played in the book was, I expected them to make an appearance, which isn’t a bad thing, it’s more of a me thing because I was convinced it would happen. To get all problems out of the way, I have one last one to talk about, which is the bar scene towards the end, it is very important for the development of the story so I was kind of disappointed when it was a bit rushed. I would’ve wanted it to be explored a bit more.

Now for the romance. You know how in M/F romances, there is this common overused trope where the guy doesn’t want to get “tied down” while the girl is ready for commitment. Well, I LOVED seeing a spin of that in an F/F romance, and in this case, I didn’t mind it at all, mainly because it wasn’t used dry. Frankie realizes she’s developing feelings for Samara early on and I absolutely adored how she wanted to take time and make sure that everything is right. Their relationship is absolutely adorable and heartwarming, I liked the way it progressed and how they spent most their days doing casual things, being cosy and comfortable.

This is another one with amazing friendships (God, how I love this type of books). Frankie’s friends – Lizzie and Cait (whom book 1 & 2 are about) are the best and their group banter is very funny but get real quickly when necessary. They rooted for her and Samara so much and did everything to make her comfortable and include her in their little group.

I’d recommend this to anyone looking for a cute, fast to read F/F to lift their spirits up with awesome girl power and witty banter.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Out on Good Behavior? If so, what did you think?

Do you think the bar scene was satisfying?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

One thought on “Out on Good Behavior – The Cute Book that got me Back into New Adult

  1. Pingback: To Sum-up: April/May 2017 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

