Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda – Adorable boys, long emails and Oreos

Simon vs.png

Publication date : April 7th, 2015goodreads

Publisher : HarperCollins Children’s Books

Genre : Young Adult | Contemporary

Page Count: 320

Synopsis : Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.
With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.
 
(From Goodreads)

Rating: 5 stars

Simon vs quote.png

(No Spoilers)

Don’t tell anyone but I might have shed a tear or two by the end of this book because it made me genuinely happy and giddy and just AHH!! All the fuzzy feelings were given to me by all the adorable characters, the adorable events and even more adorable romance. I don’t know what took me so long. To be completely honest, I wasn’t even sure I wanted to read this one until I joined the right crowd on Twitter and EVERYONE was raving about it, a couple of my friends even yelled at me to read it already but what finally made me take the jump -besides my rising excitement- is when my awesome friend Mariam @ Mariammy Books -who has read it multiple times- offered to buddy read it with me.

I was pleasantly surprised with the writing, I didn’t expect it to like it as much as I did, (like everything else in this book, oups). It’s fun and beautiful at the same times, a lot of it is quotable and I’m a sucker for good lines, this got to be one of my favorites:

“The way I feel about him is like a heartbeat — soft and persistent, underlying everything.”

Simon vs. starts directly with the blackmail, it’s literally how we first meet Simon and from then on we get to know and love him, see him handle the blackmail, his crush and life, and sometimes fail at it, which is okay. The story is told in first person from Simon’s perspective and I have to say, he has a very likeable voice, one you get easily attached to, and it isn’t boring nor is it irritating which is really great because we all know how being inside a character’s thoughts can be.

Everyone and their mother knows what the story is by now, but what you don’t know and need to hear is how cute the email exchanges between Simon and Blue are, they’re the cutest things ever, some are deep, some are silly and most are random. The conversation flows very easily, there is no fear of judgement, because none of them know who the other one is. And I think that’s brilliant because by the time they got to meet they already knew each other, they knew things they probably wouldn’t have told each other in the “getting to know each other” stage if it were to happen face to face.

Simon is so freaking precious, he’s a sweet boy and I found it impossible to dislike him or even get annoyed at him which is VERY weird for me because I’m easily annoyed but he just genuinely loves people and taking care of them, HE COULDN’T EVEN HATE HIS BLACKMAILER for 80% of the book. He’s also super funny, the respectful kind of funny if that makes any sense, the kind where he doesn’t need to bring people down or be offensive to make a joke and I really liked that.

Blue is… yeah no, you’re not getting a name hehe, all I can say is that he isn’t anyone you’re expecting, although I must say that at one point I thought to myself what if it’s … and then forgot about it 2 seconds later. Sigh. Which means that the reveal managed to surprise me as much as anyone else. He’s such a soft boy and you all know by now, I have a weak spot for those, I swooned and flailed at how flirty and romantic he could get, how gentle he seemed -from the emails. I was scared when starting the book that it would end and I wouldn’t have had enough Simon and Blue IRL scenes, and even though I don’t think I can ever get enough of them, there were enough scenes to satiate me.

Special mention to Simon’s family and his group of friends. I LIVED for how tight knitted his family was, slightly humiliating, they have traditions, sometimes fight but none of it ever makes you doubt their love for each other. Nick and Abby are adorable and I rooted for them, as for Leah, she’s the badassest (it’s a word now, apparently) and my idol and I feel so blessed that Becky is releasing a book all about her because it’s going to be awesome.

Last but not least, I’M SO FREAKING EXCITED ABOUT THE MOVIE !!!! Y’all can’t even imagine, I need it to be out in the world yesterday. I’m pretty sure I’m going to reread this one many times because it is a very quick, pick me up, happy read and it would lift anyone’s spirits instantly. If you’ve been hesitant to pick it up like yours truly, don’t be!! Just take the plunge.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda? If so, what did you think?

Where you able to guess Blue’s identity?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

9 thoughts on “Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda – Adorable boys, long emails and Oreos

  1. I literally just read this one a few days ago and LOVED IT SO MUCH! Honestly, I don’t even know why I put off reading it for so long because it was exactly the book I needed to get me out of my contemporary slump. It was so cute! And same about Blue. For a minute there I thought what if and then just forgot and was surprised. But after it was revealed it also felt so obvious and I couldn’t believe I didn’t figure it out 😂. Anyway! Glad you enjoyed this one a lot too, Fadwa. Great review as always!! ♥

    Like

  2. I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book, and I need to go see if my library has it! I’m so glad you loved this so much! Between you, Mariam and Leah, I’ll be a Becky Albertalli fan for sure!

    Like

  3. Pingback: To Sum-up: April/May 2017 | Word Wonders
  4. Pingback: The Upside of Unrequited – Cutest, most heartfelt story with most relatable MC | Word Wonders
  5. Pingback: TAG #36: Mid-year Book Freak-out tag | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

