The Melody of You and Me – Two girls. A Bookstore. And Lots of Romance.

The Melody of You and Me.png

Series : Lillac Town #1

Publication date : February 11th, 2017goodreads

Publisher : Self-published

Genre : New Adult | Contemporary

Page Count : 144

Synopsis : After dropping out of university and breaking up with her girlfriend of three years, Chris Morrison’s life is now a mind-numbing mess. She doubts that working at the small neighborhood bookstore is going to change that. The rest of her time is spent mostly playing guitar and ignoring the many messages her mother keeps sending her about going back to college.
But one day, an adorable and charming new bookseller waltzes her way into Chris’s life. Josie Navarro is sweet, flirty, and she always has a new book in her hands. The two girls start a fast friendship that, for Chris, holds the promise of something more. But is she reading too much into this or is it possible that Josie feels the same way? (
From Goodreads)

Rating : 4 stars

The Melody of you and me.png

(No Spoilers)

Guys. I’m back on the NA bandwagon and enjoying myself immensely, The Melody of You and Me is one of the reasons why. I. LOVED. IT. As much as the second one in the series -which I read first, silly me- if not more. I promised myself I’d read this soon after the other one and the funny thing is that I started my month with The Paths we Choose and closed it with this one. I also read it at the perfect time, it was my little adorable -and somewhat steamy- escape for a night from the stress that has been my life in april. And I loved it all the more for that.

Since I read the books out of order, I am VERY confused as to what to put in this review (note to self: NEVER DO THAT AGAIN). Anyway, Hollis has a constant writing style that I think I can recognize now that I’ve read both her books, it has something that screams her name which I yet have to identify and it is good, it feels personal and I could feel the main character’s every emotion through it. That being said, it doesn’t mean that her characters’ voices are the same because it’s far from being the case, each one of them has a very different personality.

Chris goes through amazing development and what I loved most about that is that it wasn’t *because* of her newfound relationship with Josie, sure her romance was part of it but not the reason for it. At the beginning, she is lost, unsure of herself, of her life and what she wants to do next and I loved that, because it’s something we all go through at one point or another and the author showed how it is okay to feel that way and to take time to figure out what comes next. Or not at all. She LOVES music but never considered it as a serious career choice because it was such an intimate thing for her. And I sort of get it, even though I don’t play any sort of instrument, music is still a very personal and private part of me.

Josie is SO adorable. She’s so playful and flirty and that was SO GOOD. She made me smile so many times with just how straight forward with her attraction to Chris she is. She’s also a sweet, caring girl and very passionate about her ballet. Listen, I’ve said it times and times before, I love artsy girls, I just do. I liked how coming out was explored through her and how “I’ve always known” although coming from a good place isn’t the right answer because, ya know, a person’s sexuality isn’t written on their forehead.

The romance and I started very rocky just because the initial flirting was a bit rushed and out of the blue for me, so I thought to myself “Please let it be that the rest of it isn’t rushed” and IT WASN’T, the rest of it took the time it needed to develop and feel natural. And like, MUSICIAN MEETS BALLERINA? Can it get any better? No it can’t. Not in my book anyway. They were both passionate about different things but they related to each other in that way. Their relationship is very cute and gentle but also sexy, just saying. I really appreciated how sex positive The Melody of You and Me was (just like the other one). It’s very explicit with sex scenes and also includes masturbation.

The ending gave me the fuzzies because everything wrapped up so very nicely with a happy ending (well no really an ending since we see Chris and Josie in the next book) where everything was resolved including Chris’ relationship with her parents. Now gimme Hope and Karen’s story. Like seriously, I am in desperate need for the third book because the author writes F/F romances soooo freaking well. Read them. Just saying.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read The Melody of You and Me? If so, what did you think?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

5 thoughts on “The Melody of You and Me – Two girls. A Bookstore. And Lots of Romance.

  1. Pingback: To Sum-up: April/May 2017 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

