To Sum-up: April/May 2017

2017 April + May.png

Hello guys !

Long time, no see! Well, if you missed my hiatus post, you might not have noticed that I was gone. At all. Because reviews were still going up, but I haven’t written ANYTHING that isn’t a review in 2 months and haven’t visited other blogs in more than that. But, I’m back now, so HI ! How do we do this blogging thing?

1

It’s more like “Life these past two months” but let’s pretend that’s what the header says.

Anyway, as per usual, exam period was hell, too much stress, too much studying, too little sleep, too little me time. But now, I’m back to my normal, happy self. I actually still have a lab test tomorrow but that one doesn’t require much studying so I consider myself done.

This semester was the hardest so far (and it only gets harder from now on *gulps*) but weirdly enough, this is the most satisfied and proud of myself I ever came out of any finals, I studied my butt off and it actually paid off. As of right now, I’m still catching up on sleep and doing literally nothing. I’m not even joking when I say that I spent the past couple of days in bed doing stuff that doesn’t require getting up, like reading, watching tv shows and the like.

As good as I was with my blogging hiatus (it’s not like I had a choice) I was AWFUL with my twitter hiatus especially for the last couple of weeks when I was tired beyond what I could take so I would sneek on there whenever I had a few minutes to breathe -or even instead of studying.

While I was away, the blog reached 800 followers and is still growing so if you’ve stuck around or are new around here, thank you

2

2017 - April.png

I also beta read my friend, mason’s book #EnbyLoveStory and let me tell you IT’S EXTRAORDINARY, no joke, one of the cutest, most important contemporaries I’ve ever read. Their writing is amazing and the story is just so raw and beautiful.

2017 - May.png

Titles = Goodreads page

3

  • The Paths we Choose – M. Hollis                                   4 stars
  • How to Make a Wish – Ashley Herring Blake            5 stars
  • The Seafarer’s Kiss – Julia Ember                                 4.5 stars
  • Out on Good Behavior – Dahlia Adler                          3.5 stars
  • Noteworthy – Riley Redgate                                           3.5 stars

Title = Review

To Sum Up Titles.jpg

2017 Diversity Bingo Update

Here you can find the original sheet and a bunch of recommendations.

I’m sooo proud of how well I’m doing, I have 21 squares down and a completed line. I also have a bunch more books lined up for next month that will check some other boxes -and obviously the ones after. I’m also proud of the fact that I finally figured out how to make my sheet look decent and not all blurry when I fill it haha.

4

Since I was away I don’t have any posts to show you, for obvious reasons.

I’m very excited for life and reading in June. First of all, for the whole month, I will participating in #Ramadanreadathon and reading book by muslim authors exclusively. I’ll be making a whole post dedicated to this in a few days so keep an eye out for it, for more details, links to everything and my TBR. And since that’s all I will be reading in June, there won’t be a TBR in this post because I want it to be with the next one.

June is also Pride Month, so if you can, read a few LGBTQ+ books this month and try prioritizing #ownvoices. I sadly won’t be reading any because June coincides with Ramadan which is our holy month and I will be prioritizing religious duties, so I can’t take on both the readathon AND other books (in this case, books for pride month). I’m a little bummed about it, but I read LGBTQ+ books all year around so I’ll be making up for it afterwards. Oh, I’ll actually be beta reading an f/f fantasy once I’m done with the books for the readathon so that’s at least one, right? haha.

My blog schedule will be a bit messy this month, with 4 posts a week, on Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday so that I’m able to post both the reviews that are already scheduled and the ones for the books I’ll be reading for the readathon and that way I can catch up with my reading pace as well. But starting next month, things will be back to 3 posts a week with a slight change in schedule which I will get to in the next wrap up.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read any of these books? What did you think of them?

What books did you read these past couple of months? Any new Favorites? 

Oh! And if you have any posts you think I should check out, leave them in the comments.

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

14 thoughts on “To Sum-up: April/May 2017

  1. I’m so glad to see you’re back. And congrats on a great semester! I know you’ve worked hard and you deserve to take care of yourself and relax for a while.
    I’m really looking forward to seeing your Ramadan Readathon TBR – I read a few books by Muslim authors this month but I really want to read more. I’m personally doing LGBTQIA books for June but it will definitely extend into July, so don’t feel bad about skipping Pride month.
    If you’re interested in catching up on posts from this month, I have a long, long list in my Wrap-Up post: https://thestorysalve.wordpress.com/2017/05/31/may-wrap-up/
    Also Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads did a lovely Around the Blogosphere post as well: https://kourtnireads.wordpress.com/2017/05/27/around-the-blogosphere/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much !! Yeaah I don’t really feel bad because I read LGBTQIA+ books all the time and kind of forget about the Muslim books haha 🙈 so this is a great opportunity for me to catch up.
      Aaah thank you so much, this is super helpful. I’ll check them out once I get around to blog hopping.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Welcome back to blogging my twinnie – I have to say you’ve done pretty great in terms of reading and scheduling all of your reviews while you were on hiatus, ahah, organization skills are GREAT here. Can’t wait to have all of your recommendations for the Ramadan Readathon and the LGBTQIA books as well – I’m not participating but I will be watching and adding all of the books everyone talks about on my TBR ahah 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Welcome Back! So glad you are back, I know things have been crazy busy for you lately with all your exams and i’m glad you can now take some time for yourself and chill. The sheer amount of books you managed to review this month! Seriously, you are the inspiration I need to get my writing in gear so I can get my blog posts up. I’m feeling a little in a blogging slump lately, I read the books and write the notes in my notebook but it’s pushing myself to write them!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Welcome back. Wow, you’ve done so much during these past two months. And Ramadan Mubarak! I’m planning on taking part in the RamadanReadaThon as well, so I’m looking forward to your post about that.
    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and am very impressed by your blog. I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.
    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

