Ramadan Readathon : My TBR & 20+ Recommendations

Ramadan Readathon

Hello guys !

Ramadan has began a few days back ago and it’s going rather smoothly for me *stomach noises* yes very smoothly. How is it doing for my muslim friends out there?

I’ve never ever done a readathon before just because they either do not appeal to me or the ones that do interest me happen in times where I literally cannot add any amount of stress to my already freaking out self so Ramadan Readathon is the first. AND I AM SO EXCITED. AH !!

RR 1

I thought I’d start with the basics in this post. Ramadan is our holy month and the ninth month of the Islamic Lunar Calendar, most widely known as a month of fasting (sawm) which is one of the five pillars of Islam, but it’s more than that. It’s a month where muslims abstain from eating, drinking and sexual intercourse from dawn (our morning prayer: Fajr) until Sunset (our dusk prayer: Maghreb), as well as some other things like frivolous entertainement, smoking, gossiping, lying etc…

The main goal here is to strenghten our faith and relationship with God and become a better person, through prayer, reading lots of Quran, doing good, helping those in need among other things. This obviously is mendatory for all muslims unless it’s kids, elderly, during menstruations abd pregnancies, or people who can’t fast for a reason or another. Not going to get into the details, because this alone would need a whole post.

RR 2

From the creators:

The purpose of this readathon is to celebrate Muslim authors who have written anything from comics to poetry to fiction. It is a way for people to support marginalised writers and raise awareness about the importance of diversifying our bookshelves. Note: the purpose of this readathon is to celebrate Muslim authors rather than books written about Muslims. Some of the books on these lists aren’t written by Muslims.

Ramadan Readathon

So JOIN US ! From June 1st to June 30th. It’ll be lots of fun. Spread the word so that more people participate, make a TBR, maybe find someone who’s reading the same book and buddy read, write posts, make lists, the possibilities are endless. But mostly read and promote books by Muslim authors because their voices deserve to be heard.

Here you can find the Announcement post, the twitter and the events’ schedule.

RR 3

I not only wanted to read book my Muslim authors this month but I wanted to make sure that most of them fit for one of the #DiversityBingo2017 squares and it’s actually a success, and easier than I expected. So here are my books:

Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed : I’m honestly so excited about this. All my friends who have read it LOVE it. I started it yesterday and I’m already hooked, the story is compelling although I know that I am set for heartbreak and I AM NOT READY.

Saints and Misfits by S. K. Ali : This is honestly one of my most anticipated books of 2017 and probably of my life. I can’t wait to read it. Its spot in my TBR isn’t a sure one because I don’t have and I’m not sure if I’ll be able to get it this month. We’ll see.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir : This one is long overdo. I’ve yet to read a Fantasy by a Muslim author (not like there’s a lot of those) and I’m super excited to see if this one lives up to the hype.

Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi : AAH! First of all, this will be the first MG I’ve read in years and second, not gonna lie, what made me decide to read it this month is seeing the cover of whichwood, the companion novel. SO GORGEOUS.

She Wore Red Trainers by Naima B. Robert : This is probably the oldest one on my TBR, as well as the first book by a Muslim author that I discovered so it’s about time I get to it. Sounds like lots of fluff and cuteness and I’m all for that.

When Michael Met Mina by Randa Abdel-fattah : I… don’t know what to say about this one? Other than the fact that I can’t wait to dive into it and it sounds lowkey heart breaking? I’ll keep you posted on that.

RR 4

You can find a bunch in my post about Muslim Representation, which I won’t be re-using in this post. Some of them are not out yet, but I thought I’d use this post as a reference of recommendations.

Middle Grade and Young Adult

Adult

Non-fiction

I actually discovered quite a few books myself while researching for this post, so YAY !!


That’s it until next time.

Are you Participating in the Readathon? What books are on your TBR?

If you have any other recommendations, leave them in the comments.

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

31 thoughts on “Ramadan Readathon : My TBR & 20+ Recommendations

  1. Amazing Post! I’ve still got an Ember in the Ashes on my TBR too. So glad i’m not the only one yet to check it out, definitely want to this year. You’ve also given me a ton of other authors to check out. Thank you also for the little definition of what Ramadan is, I knew about the abstaining from eating but didn’t also know it was for sex, lying etc Thank you for teaching me about it. I was wondering if the drinking means all drink or if you are allowed to drink water in the day? Sorry if that may be a stupid question! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Hannah 😘
      Hahah yeah you’re definitely not the only one. Ooh awesome, hope you like them !!
      You’re welcome, and yeah most people don’t know about all tha stuff so I’m happy to help. Oh no we can’t drink water either during the day.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! I’m also looking forward to Saints and Misfits ❤
    She Wore Red Trainers is also one of the oldest books on my TBR. I hope this year I'll find time to read it. Good luck with the readathon. I'm really excited 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Laughing All the Way to the Mosque has been on my TBR for a while now – we loved Little Mosque on the Prairie.

    Since you included middle grade reads on your list, I’ll mention The Red Pencil by Andrea Davis Pinkney and Shane W. Evans. It won’t count for Ramadan Readathon, but it’s a well-done portrayal of a Sudanese refugee – it was nice to read about an African Muslim and a girl who wants education so that she can study the Quran!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for all the book recs! I actually have ‘The Secret Sky’. I bought it on a whim because it sounded interesting.
    You mentioned that explaining the details of Ramadan would take a whole post but if you ever get the time, could you write that blog post? I don’t have any muslim friends in my personal life and I am interested in knowing more about the fasting and how that works. Like, how it’s supposed to strengthen your relationship with God.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome 😊 I hope you enjoy it !!
      Yeah maybe, I’ve been thinking about doing a Islam 101 post but I don’t think it’ll be anytime soon, so if you’d like, you can dm me on twitter or send me an email, I don’t mind 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Your blog looks awesome! I’m new to blogging, so searching for Muslim bookworms and writers 🙂 (I haven’t yet posted anything on my blog, I intend to once my exams are over) these books all look so great! I’ve added quite a few to my TBR! 🙂

    Like

  6. Thanks so much for sharing this list of books, i like to read to my little daughter and definitely will choose some of these. And i will also encourage my boys to know about Ramadan readathon though we are almost at the end of the month but to get the idea.
    And your writing about ramadan is so good and simple.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

