The Rose Society – The Anti-hero turns out of control Villain

The Rose Society.png

Series: The Young Elites #2

Publication date : October 13th, 2015goodreads

Publisher : G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Genre : Young Adult | Fantasy

Page Count: 398

Synopsis :Once upon a time, a girl had a father, a prince, a society of friends. Then they betrayed her, and she destroyed them all.
Adelina Amouteru’s heart has suffered at the hands of both family and friends, turning her down the bitter path of revenge. Now known and feared as the White Wolf, she flees Kenettra with her sister to find other Young Elites in the hopes of building her own army of allies. Her goal: to strike down the Inquisition Axis, the white-cloaked soldiers who nearly killed her.
But Adelina is no heroine. Her powers, fed only by fear and hate, have started to grow beyond her control. She does not trust her newfound Elite friends. Teren Santoro, leader of the Inquisition, wants her dead. And her former friends, Raffaele and the Dagger Society, want to stop her thirst for vengeance. Adelina struggles to cling to the good within her. But how can someone be good when her very existence depends on darkness? (From Goodreads)

Rating: 4 stars

The Rose Society.png

(No Spoilers)

WOWOWOWOW!!! This is probably the darkest book I’ve ever read, it’s mind boggling. Terrifying, horrifying, shudder-inducing and all the other adjectives. My heart was pounding out of my chest the whole time I was reading it and wow, it’s intense, the darkness got suffocating at times and I just had to take a break because it was more than I could handle. I don’t think I can pretend to have a black soul after this (says the girl with the pink bubbly blog. Irony.). I know I said that The Young Elites is dark, but this, THIS is tenfolds that because Adelina is 100% evil, there’s no light whatsoever.

The writing is intricate and consistant, as in it’s the same as in the first book, it packs a punch of emotions and that’s really all I can ask for. The complaint I had last time about the book lacking POVs is completely solved in this one because it 100% focuses on Adelina but still manages to develop the other characters. That being said, I have another complaint (when do I not complain?). Some of the dialogue felt very off to me, a bit too info-dumpey and convenient. For example, a character would be eavesdropping and the right thing would be said at the right moment for them to have all the information they need and that really bugged me. It was just too easy.

The pace picks up very early on in this one, once the introductions to the world are done with in the first book, The Rose society goes straight into the action with lots of killing, stabbing and fighting and my soul loved it (It’s still a bit black, see?), the action scenes are given the attention they deserve, they’re very well written and described, I could easily imagine everything that was happening and there was no confusing anything anymore. I really liked how everything unfolded and how events were put into motion.

There are two things I’ll always love about the characters in this book. First one is how none of them have a “noble cause”. There’s nothing wrong with that, mind you but it’s a nice change and a welcome twist from every other book. They were all after personal gain, something that would benefit them, may it be vanity or vengeance. Second is how their powers have limits AND a cost, that’s all  I’m gonna say, otherwise I’ll be venturing into spoilery territory

Adelina is a piece of work, oh lord. The more she uses her powers, the more she feeds on darkness, the more she becomes dark and the more she looses control over it, it’s a vicious circle. She’s ambitious, determined to get what she wants and is also a villain mastermind, the way she plot her next steps is genius. I loved her or more like, I loved to hate her because she does all the messed up things and you cannot not hate her for them, especially towards the end.

I really liked her sister, Violetta. She’s this calme presence all throughout the book and ground Adelina for most of it. She goes through great developement from this scared little girl to a confident one who know what she wants and what the limits to what she can accept are and isn’t afraid to act on it. Last but not least, Magiano. HE STOLE MY HEART!! He’s such a sneaky, cunning, mischiveous boy but also has a gentle, sweet side to him. Honest to God, he was the only light in the book, on rare (VERY rare) occasions, he brought up this hopeful, good side of Adelina, which she didn’t fail to smother right away but HE DID THAT. And I ship them, even though he deserves better I can’t help it, and I KNOW I shouldn’t because I’m pretty sure my ship will sink but again, I can’t help it.

I think this will be it for my rambling about this book, it was such a good sequel and was far from suffering from Second Book Syndrome which I was scared would happen. BUT I’m really scared to pick up the finale The Midnight Star because I’ve been hearing very mixed things about it, some loved the conclusion, some hated it so I’ll maybe wait a couple of months before picking it up and I’ll go in with low expectations. WE SHALL SEE.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read The Rose Society? If so, what did you think?

What did you think of Adelina’s actions and motives?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

3 thoughts on “The Rose Society – The Anti-hero turns out of control Villain

  1. There aгe, in fact, some negative factors to freᥱlancing.
    One vital point is that for those who work as a contract
    parɑlegal youll not Ьe eligible for thee sorts of ƅenefits tҺat youd
    hqve iin working for a regulation firm or a private attorney.
    If you really feel that such “perks” as normal
    medical insurance and different such aԀvantaǥes are importɑnt,
    freelancing is not going to provide you with these benefits.

    Like

  2. Pingback: To Sum-up: June 2017 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

