Lambs can Always Become Lions – The F/F Robin Hood Retelling your life lacks

Lambs can Always Become Lions.png

Series : Lambs can Always Become Lions #1

Publication date : May 15th, 2017goodreads

Publisher : Self-published

Genre : New Adult | Retelling

Page Count : 96

Synopsis : Robin Hood, along with her group of friends, has been aiding the poor of Nottingham for four years. They have become an hindrance to the Sheriff of Nottingham, terrorising the rich lords and ladies and robbing gold right from under the Sheriff’s nose.
Helping Robin from inside, and proving her most useful ally, is Lady Marian Fitzwalter.
After hearing about a special shipment coming through Sherwood – filled with gold, jewels and weapons – Marian agrees to help Robin gather information so she can ambush it. It is risky and dangerous on both sides but Marian would do anything for Robin. And Robin would do anything to feed her people.
But as the shipment draws closer and tensions rise, Robin finds herself having to decide which is more important: love or duty.
(From Goodreads)

Rating : 4.5 stars

Lambs can Always Become Lions.png(No Spoilers)

You know, I think this is one of those books I’ll keep yelling about until the end of time because IT’S SO GOOD. REAL GOOD. I’ve been eyeing it for MONTHS before it came out, the premise had me super excited, I mean who wouldn’t be. A robin hood retelling? An F/F romance? GIMME, and to be completely honest, it didn’t disappoint at all.

The writing has sort of a whimsical vibe to it that I thought fit the time period perfectly and is easy to follow, which with the fact that this is a novella makes Lambs Can Always Become Lions a very fast read. It’s written in dual POV from both Robin and Marian’s perspectives which gives the reader a more wholesome look at thing and works very well with the plot and how the story is weaved, especially since both spend most of their time apart.

The story starts with a steady pace and picks up very fast to leave you gapping at all the events happening in front of you and YOU CAN’T HELP YOUR PRECIOUS BABIES WHO ARE SUFFERING (If you didn’t notice, writing this review rekindles all the feels). I was deceaved, even though I had a clear idea of the main events from the synopsis/the start of the book, I had no idea Charlotte was going to play my feelings like that. For how short it is, LCABL is action packed, it really is, with amazingly well written high stress fight scenes (some of my favorites ever) and I must admit, this book has a bunch of kickass characters to whom I got attached very quickly.

Robin is fierce and sassy with a soft side to her that cares deeply about her friends and Marian. I LOVED HER SO MUCH. She made me laugh more times than I can remember, made me swoon but most importantly got me cheering for her and rooting for her life and safety, which were put in harm’s way one too many times *glares at Charlotte*. To me, she’s one of those characters who are impossible to dislike because of the witts as well as her kindness.

Marian is a lady, and has more to offer than what meets the eye. She’s brave, loyal and resourceful, ready to do whatever it takes for the people she loves. I was invested in her fate as much as I was in Robin’s because both of them are well rounded, genuine characters. And I love love love girls who kiss and save each other. Let me just tell you about their relationship, IT’S THE MOST ADORABLE THING EVER. I knew I’d love this book early on, why? Because where the books starts, Robin and Marian are in an already established relationship and that’s one of my favorite things ever because there’s no newness to it and it’s just 100% sweet tender love. AAAAH. I CAN’T STOP GUSHING!

I really appreciated the fact that Robin’s crew was made diverse. Little John is asexual (the word isn’t used but it’s very heavily hinted), Edda is a black Muslim woman and Will is non-binary. That being said, I wish we had more of them. I think we see them enough to get a sense of who they are but I wanted more of them and I hope that happens in the next installment. I really loved the family vibe their banter gave off and how easy it was to see how much they care about each other.

All in all, this is a book that you should read. YES YOU. GO BUY IT !! It’s fast paced, engaging, and even has its cute times in the midst of all the chaos. So what’s not to love about that? I am REALLY excited for what comes next considering how things were left off at the end and I can’t to see what adventures the characters embark in next.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read Lambs can Always Become Lions? If so, what did you think?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

 

12 thoughts on “Lambs can Always Become Lions – The F/F Robin Hood Retelling your life lacks

  1. Why haven’t I heard of this book before now! It sounds AMAZING and I definitely need to check it out. 😀 I don’t think I have ever read a Robin Hood retelling, least of all with a f/f romance – I need this book in my life. Amazing review Fadwa! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

