To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before – Where the Sisterhood Filled my Heart with Joy

To all the boys I've loved before.png

Series: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #1

Publication date : April 15th, 2014goodreads

Publisher : Simon & Schuster

Genre : Young Adult | Contemporary

Page Count: 355

Synopsis : Lara Jean keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her.
They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her, these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she can pour out her heart and soul and say all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control. (From Goodreads)

Rating: 4 stars

To All Boys I've loved before.png

(No Spoilers)

Well, well, well ! Look what we have here. I think this was on my list of series to read in 2016 and I only get to it now. Five months into 2017 (when I read it). And even back then I’ve had this one for a few months and I genuinely do not know why I kept pushing it until now because my excitement to pick it up has been the same, but I guess other book got in the way, huh? Anyway, I’m glad I FINALLY got to it because I absolutely loved it.

The writing is pretty simple and easy to follow, no over flowery prose and not to simplistic either, I thought it fit the narration and Lara Jean’s voice pretty well. There was one thing about it that I didn’t like, and it was really the only thing that was between this book and 5 stars. The problem that I’m talking about is that here and there I would stumble upon an ableist word like crazy or even bipolar and maniac and… that is not okay in any book. I’m hoping and praying for the day where the use of these words would be eradicated from litterature. Please and thank you. There was even this sentence and… yeah not great.

“Anybody with one eye and half a brain could tell what a tool that guy is.”

“Are you saying my sister is blind and brainless?”

Dear authors, please stop doing this. It’ll cost you nothing and it will actually make your books better.

Moving on. The premise is very interesting, and to me, it lived up to my vision of it and more. Wanna know why? Because IT HAS FREAKING FAKE DATING and holy crap, you put those two words together and I come running because that’s one of my favorite romance tropes. Add to that amazing sisterhood (my favorite thing) and I’m head over heels, like really, once things got moving, I couldn’t put the book down unless my eyes shut on me and I ended up sleeping with my phone in hand. It was so entertaining to see Lara Jean trying to untangle herself from the mess she’s made and ending up messing even more. Oh boy, how entertained I was.

Lara Jean was such a sweet quiet girl. Once her older sister left the house she was lost and lonely and just didn’t know what to do so it was nice to see her progressively gain independancy. To be completely honest, we didn’t click from the get go, maybe because she reminded me too much of myself when I was 16? I don’t know. Either way, I ended up really loving her by the time I finished the book.

Again, as I said, the sisterhood was one of the highlights of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, especially between Lara Jean and Kitty, it reminded me so much of my little sister and I a few years back, plus Kitty is a lot like my sister. She’s fierce and sassy and acts like a grow up and all of that was SO adorable about her. And even if we didn’t see much of Margot, the little I got to see I loved, she’s so mature, keeps it together and would do anything for her family. I loved how the book portrayed the relationship between all three of them, it was so authentic to how sister fight and make up.

I was conflicted about Peter, there was this one side of him that was 100% douchy, obnoxious, loves to talk about himself and calls his friends “my boys” BUT there’s this other side that’s the opposite, gentle, corny and funny. I JUST. I have too many confusing feelings, he confuses me. Josh on the other hand I’m very meh about, he’s a nice boy and all but he did some shitty stuff and I’m very annoyed at him. We’ll see if he does better in the sequel.

Seeing how the book ended, it took all the willpower I have for me not to pick up the sequel on the spot. I’m so intrigued and eager to know where things go from there, I really hope they go just the way I suspect. I can’t believe I’ll have to wait some more to pick it up, because because I have a readathon this month (June) so I won’t be getting around to it but AAH. So excited.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before? If so, what did you think?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

8 thoughts on “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before – Where the Sisterhood Filled my Heart with Joy

  1. I’ve been putting off reading these as well. On the one hand, I’m intrigued by the premise and I’ve heard such good things about the series. On the other hand, I keep hearing about the casual use of ableist language and… as much as I don’t want it to irk me, it really does, because words like “crazy” have been used against me so much in my life. I guess I’m still on the fence, but thank you for pointing out what you did in the review.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so glad you enjoyed this book, I really liked it as well. I still have yet to pick up the final book in the series but before I do I definitely will need to do a reread because I can’t remember exactly how it goes. I’m a fan of Jenny Han’s writing as you say its a perfect balance of simple and not overly flowerly or cringey like some YA romance can have. Have you read her The Summer I turned pretty series?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahh glad to hear you enjoyed this one! I hope you enjoy the second more than I did – I was way too cynical for when I read it. As you can imagine, these are hardly the type of books to read when you’re in the mood to roll your eyes at every cringey moment ahaha. But they’re great summer reads (I haven’t read the 3rd yet so can’t speak for that one). Kitty is definitely my favourite, like you said she’s sassy and fierce and I love that aha!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: To Sum-up: June 2017 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

