To Sum-up: June 2017

2017 June.png

Hello guys !

This month was a very weird one for yours truly. Full of ups, downs and surprising, all of which were so freaking exhausting because I just couldn’t keep up. Which means my reading suffered considering how much free time I had.

1

This was my first month of summer vacation and although I didn’t have school I was still highly stressed waiting for exam results as well as for some personal reasons that you might know of if follow me on Twitter. That being said, Ramadan was very welcome because this month would’ve been much worse to handle if I didn’t have that to focus on and try my best to do good at.

Then my exam results were out on the 15th and the week after was a week from hell. So here’s how it went. Remember I had told you I did super well on my exams and was proud of myself, right? Well all my results showed it but one. ONE. They gave me an 8.75/20 which wasn’t enough to pass and said I had to resit it. I just couldn’t understand for the life of me how that happened, I felt cheated and defeated. Luckily, I had friends by my side (IRL and on the internet) who were there for me and gave me strength so I requested that my paper be regraded and they  realized they made a FREAKING MISTAKE so now I don’t have to resit it. And I am so happy about that because as much as I actually loved the subject I don’t think I had it in me to study again.

That was the traumatizing event of the month. After that I went to my aunt’s house in Marrakech for Eid celebrations, ate lots of yummy food, well no my family had the food because my stomach was (and still is) upset because I’m lactose intolerant and had whole milk Starbucks.

There’s also some other stuff that is a little too personal to share on here but it’s stuff that makes me very happy so YAY.

2

2017 - June

Ok so even if quantity wise this wasn’t the greatest, it was fantastic quality wise. As you can see I loved nearly all of them and I can’t even express how much all of those 5 star reads mean to me, all for different reasons. All of these were for Ramadan Readathon which was lots of fun to do and I hope I can participate next year as well.

Other than those, I read 2 unpublished books, both of which are written by friends of mine and both of which were amazing !! Which rounds it up to 6 books and that number isn’t too bad haha.

3

  • Future Leaders of Nowhere – Emily O’Beirne                             3 stars
  • Written in the Stars – Aisha Saeed                                               5 stars
  • Haven – Rebekah Weatherspoon                                                   4.5 stars
  • The Rose Society – Marie Lu                                                           4 stars
  • Lambs Can Always Become Lions – Charlotte A. Hamilton     4.5 stars

6

7.png

I haven’t been awesome at bloghopping but I’m getting there, okay?

To Sum Up Titles.jpg

2017 Diversity Bingo Update.png

Here you can find the original sheet and a bunch of recommendations.

I’m pretty proud of my progress on this one, not gonna lie. I added 4 books this month which I was planning on getting 5 but since I couldn’t get Saints & Misfits the 5th didn’t happen.

4

Hopefully I lot more blog-hopping and presence in the community in general, I feel like I’ve been neglecting it and I’m sad about that. I’m also going back to my normal blogging schedule of  3 posts a week, but with a slight change:

  • Monday: Discussion
  • Wednesday: Miscellaneous (extra-review, tag, award, recommendations, etc…)
  • Friday: Review

I also have a very promising (and a little too ambitious TBR) and I haven’t been excited about reading so many books in a long time so YAY !

Last but not least, my friend Charlotte and I made and Instagram account (@diverseaesthetics) where we share aesthetics for books we’ve read and I’ll be sharing some of mine with the corresponding reviews. I’ll love you forever if you follow it *hugs*.

5


That’s it until next time.

Did you read any of these books? What did you think of them?

What books did you read this month? Oh! And if you have any posts you think I should check out, leave them in the comments.

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

15 thoughts on “To Sum-up: June 2017

  1. Quality over quantity,always! And you had such great posts on your blog this month! I loved the ones about the responsibilities of reviewers, about the toxicity of social media and about what makes people come back to a blog.
    I’m sorry things have been a bit rough for you this month. Here’s wishing your July is much better!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know I said this on Twitter, but I’m so so so happy your exam situation got sorted out. I was so wishing I could fight everyone for you when you first said what had happened 😂

    Quality over quantity definitely!! You did amazing especially including how many reviews you got up considering everything you had going on. I’ve REALLY gotta read An Ember in the Ashes and When Michael Met Mina (considering it’s about the state of my own country, hah).

    And thanks so much for sharing my post, Fadwa ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahahaha thank you so much, your support means a lot ❤

      I was really proud of all the reviews I put up but my reading was bleh especially during the last week (+first week of july) cause I was feeling a slump coming, luckily I fought it off before it really settled. Yes you doooooo !!!

      Like

  3. I am still so happy that the whole exam thing worked out in the end! It’s crazy to think that their mistake could have caused you so much trouble. You worked your ass off for those exams!
    You already know that I am most excited for your buddy read of We Are Okay with Sara. I loved that book. I love Nina LaCour in general!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so happy that the grading was sorted out! Congratulations!

    The Epic Crush of Genie Lo is so good! I hope you’ll enjoy it. I also quite enjoyed Illegal Contact, very bantery hate-to-love relationship!

    I’m excited to read what you think of City of Brass! The cover itself promises good things.

    I received an ARC of Walking on Knives and didn’t like it, I thought the sex was toxic and without consent.

    Lambs Can Always Become Lions is on my medium-term TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Sinead ❤

      Ohhh i’ve heard great things about both of them so I’m sure I’ll love them.

      That one is one of my most anticipated of the year so I got really excited when I was approved, can’t wait to read it !

      Yeaah I remember what you told me, I’m going in very cautious.

      I can’t wait for you to read it 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

