The Upside of Unrequited – Cutest, most heartfelt story with most relatable MC

The Upside of Unrequited.pngPublication date : April 11th, 2017goodreads

Publisher : Balzer+Bray – Harpercollins

Genre : Young Adult | Contemporary

Page Count: 336

Synopsis : Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love—she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.
Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny and flirtatious and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.
There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. Right?
 
(From Goodreads)

Rating: 5 stars

The Upside of Unrequited.png

(No Spoilers)

*awkward silence* I love this book so freaking much that I’m really trying to figure out how to review it without screaming “DROP EVERYTHING AND GO READ IT” until my laptop screen shatters. I’ve been procrastinating this review for a solid month, hoping for my feelings to settle so that I can review it properly, but who am I kidding? I will never get over how incredibly good and validating this book was. Between this one and Simon vs. the Homosapiens Agenda, Becky Albertalli has become one of my favorite authors, an auto-buy, auto-read and auto-scream about. So without further ado, let’s try and review The Upside of Unrequited.

As in good Becky fashion, the writing is simple and easy to follow while being gorgeous and making me want to quote every single line (I’m not kidding, I have so many quotes highlighted in my ecopy). She has a way of dealing with not so happy topics while still keeping things light and funny. This book made me laugh so much, I honestly started cracking up from the first sentence. I love that first sentence.

The story is so well constructed, not only following Molly’s story and growth but having many side storylines, for her twin sister, her friends, and even her moms which made the story feel more wholesome and realistic than most. I think I’ve said this in my review of Simon vs. but I think that the author writes the best relationships and more particularly, the best family bonds. They’re so genuine and heartwarming and just REAL, so incredibly real, the conversations, the love, the honesty, I just. I love everything about them so much.

So, Molly is my baby that I will protect at all costs, I will fight anyone who means her harm because she’s so precious and close to my heart. I think that if 16 years old me had Molly, she would’ve known that she will be alright and that she is not alone in what she’s feeling. Molly is fat (and no that’s not a bad word, get over it) and just such a funny, caring, and all around awesome character and she’s probably the character I saw most of my teenage self in. She’s such an overthinker (which hi, hello, it’s me!) and that makes her a walking ball of anxiety. Oh speaking of anxiety, I loved how medications was talked about and normalized. I wanted to scream ME with ever one of her struggles, thoughts and victories.

Also, I want to address the fact that Molly WASN’T fixed by the fact that she got a boyfriend, she just found someone who made her happy so it’s only normal for her to be more rainbows and sunshine. Underneath all of that she is still the same Molly, with a lot of character growth, sure, but still Molly. I may or may not have burst into tears at some point while reading the book.

Reid is the goofiest, softest boy. He cares so much about Molly and he just *gets* her. I love how good and comfortable with each other they were while stilll having their adorably awkward moments. I couldn’t help but root for them and swoon over them because THEY ARE ADORABLE. Cassie, Molly’s twin sister is a character I started off liking because their relationship is very realistic but then as she started drifting away from Molly I got annoyed at her BUT THEN I remembered that sisters work like that sometimes and that the blame wasn’t entirely on her so I went back to loving her.

I want to mention the friendships in this as well because they are goals, the girls are there for each other at any time, no matter what. The moms as well, because that couple is so cute and strong and comforting.

I think I will stop here because I’m pretty sure this review doesn’t make sense but if you have to take one message away from this, it’s “READ THE FREAKING BOOK” It’s brilliant, has positive fat and anxiety rep, as well as pansexual rep and a two moms’ wedding. READ IT.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read The Upside of Unrequited? If so, what did you think?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

14 thoughts on “The Upside of Unrequited – Cutest, most heartfelt story with most relatable MC

  1. Yesssss!!! I loved this book so much. It made me so incredibly happy!!! I loved Molly so much and I wish I had a book like this when I was a teenager because I think it would have helped my self-esteem so much. I love Becky Albertalli’s writing so much. Great review, Fadwa ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This books sounds simply amazing! I definitely NEED to read it! I don’t think I have ever read about an overweight characters that was handled well and I have heard that this book has amazing representation for that! And that makes me even more exited to read it. 😀 I have heard generally great things about Becky Albertalli’s books but I haven’t read any of them yet. I’ll hopefully read them soon. Amazing review, Fadwa! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: TAG #36: Mid-year Book Freak-out tag | Word Wonders
  4. Pingback: To Sum-up: July 2017 | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

