TAG #36: Mid-year Book Freak-out tag

Midyear book freakout

Hello guys !

Please give me a second to register that half of 2017 has already flown by !!! It can’t be, can it? But yes, it’s already summer, it’s already July and I’ve already read 45 books this year, two of which aren’t on goodreads and one I read twice. I’m actually really proud of how good I’m doing reading wise, reading more books AND better books. Most of the books I read this year are 3.5 stars and up.

Anyway, enough ramblings, I don’t think I was tagged to do this one (if you tagged me, please let me know so that I can mention you in the post) but I did it last year and it was a lot of fun to do so I decided I’d do it again. This tag was created by Chami @ ReadLikeWildFire and Ely @ Ely Jayne.

Title = Goodreads page.

BEST BOOK YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2017

YOU CANNOT ASK ME TO CHOOSE JUST ONE. I’ve read so many amazing books this year and narrowing it down to just 3 was actually pretty hard BUT the books that stuck with me the most because they mean something to me on a personal level are:

  • The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury. This is such a breathtakingly beautiful fantasy book. The prose is magical, the world-building fantastic and the romance is the most swoon-worthy. It’s an Aladdin retelling and I highly recommend it. (Review)
  • How to Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake. Ho boy did I cry when I read this one, it’s so real and raw and heartbreaking but also hopeful. It deals with important issues like parental emotional abuse, grief and family. I adore it. (Review)
  • When Michael met Mina by Randa Abdel-Fattah. I reviewed this one just last week and I read it pretty recently as well so everything it made me feel is still pretty vivid. It deals with racism, islamophobia as well as unpacking privilege and reading that saddened me angered me but also gave me hope. (Review)

YOUR FAVORITE SEQUEL OF 2017

V. E. Schwab - (#3) A Conjuring of Light

A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab obviously. Even though I didn’t give it the full 5 star rating because of reasons you can check out in my review, it was still an epic ending to one of my favorite series ever. The author knows how to write her characters, plot and world-building. They are FANTASTIC.

A NEW RELEASE YOU HAVEN’T READ BUT WANT TO

A LOT? There are so many I still need to get to, it’s truly ridiculous. I just get distracted with other books and books keep coming out quicker than I can read them and I just need a remote that can pause time until I catch up. Does anyone have one of those for sale? Just to mention a few

MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE FOR THE SECOND HALF

Again… A LOT? Pals, these questions are hard but let’s see if I can give you a short list because believe me there are AT LEAST 30 books I’m anticipating, some of which I was lucky to get Arcs of and I will be reading this month and that makes me incredibly happy.

YOUR BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT

Adam Silvera - History is All you left me

Please don’t get mad at me for this but… History is All You Left me by Adam Silvera. It’s not that I didn’t like it, I actually enjoyed it and gave it 3.5 stars I believe but I had such high hopes for it (with More Happy than Not being one of my favorite reads last year) that I couldn’t help but feel a bit let down by it. I was bored and a little detached. It’s totally a me problem here, not a book problem. (Review)

BIGGEST SURPRISE OF THE YEAR

Becky Albertalli - Simon vs The homo sapiens Agenda

Simon vs. the Homosapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli which I’ve been actually stalling since it first came out. For some reason unknown to me I thought I wouldn’t like it but it became an instant favorite of mine. It is such a cute, heartwarming read that’s super fast to read and a perfect pick-me-up or to get out of a slump. (Review)

FAVE NEW TO YOU OR DEBUT AUTHOR

Again, I have a few here. DON’T JUDGE ME! I just discovered so many fantastic authors this year and it’s impossible to pick just one. Here are a few:

  • Becky Albertalli
  • Laura Silverman
  • Thea De Salle
  • Stacey Lee
  • Ashley Herring Blake
  • Charlotte Anne Hamilton

YOUR NEW FICTIONAL CRUSH

I don’t really have one? It’s weird but I kind of don’t crush on characters anymore, I’m always like “These are my kids and I must protect them at all costs” even when the characters are older than I am. BUT one that I would die for is Zahra from the Forbidden Wish She’s the Jinni in the story and such a beautiful, brave and flawed character. I couldn’t help but adore her throughout the whole story.

NEW FAVORITE CHARACTER

Molly from the Upside of Unrequited, she’s just such a kind, genuine, relatable character who fucks up because it’s normal and I just UGH, I loved reading about her, her wins and struggles so much. I also loved Grace from How to Make a Wish because of her strength, resilience, empathy and capability to love. I love her a lot.

A BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY

Aisha Saeed - Written in the Stars

Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed. This is I think the book that made me really cry. A couple others made me tear up a bit but this one, wow, I was a full on fountain because of the topics, the events, all the trauma the MC goes through, it’s just awful. I also cried at the ending and how hopeful and “light at the end of the tunnel” it was. (Review)

A BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPY

I have two that really stand out. I read Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde a while back and it was the first book this year that made me genuinely happy, I felt like the happiness would burst out of my chest. It just has so much positive representation and both romances are fluffy that you just can’t help but be happy, it’s science, really (Review). The second is The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli, to no one’s surprise really, I love that book beyond what words can express, Molly is just relatable to me and that alone made me happy, add to that how the story unfolds and I am won over (Review).

FAVE BOOK TO MOVIE ADAPTATION YOU’VE SEEN THIS YEAR

hehe. hehe. hehehehe. I’ve watched exactly 0 adaptations this year but I WILL… Eventually.

FAVE BOOK POST PUBLISHED THIS YEAR

I’m actually really proud of some of my posts from this year, I’m satisfied with the direction I’ve taken with my blog and how well that translated into these posts. Here are my 3 favorite bookish posts:

MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK YOU’VE BOUGHT/RECEIVED

Adam Silvera - History is All you left me 2.jpg

Well I almost exclusively read ebooks so I actually got only 4 physical books this year. The prettiest one was by far History is All you Left Me. It’s just so shiny and aesthetically pleasing. I’m talking about the UK paperback, I actually do not like the US cover that much. I’d take a picture of my copy to show how shiny it is but… it’s 1am.

WHAT ARE THE BOOKS YOU NEED TO READ BEFORE THE END OF THE YEAR? 

ALL THE BOOKS? I have so many I want to read before the year ends that just thinking about them stresses me out haha. But here are a few:


That’s it until next time.

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “TAG #36: Mid-year Book Freak-out tag

  1. Loved ACOL, Upside and Queens of Geek!!! Really glad to hear you enjoyed Simon too!!! I can’t wait for Warcross and 27 Hours! Also I really enjoyed Vice & Virtue!! I felt like the historically accuracy of the rep was a bit under challenged a times, but there was some stuff that was called out too and the characters are wonderful and I feel like you’re gonna love my girl Felicity 🙌🏻

    Like

  2. Simon vs. was my biggest surprise too. I absolutely love that book. And I’m looking forward to reading Vice & Virtue too; I’ve heard so many good things about it. It’s different from what I usually read but I think I’ll really enjoy it

    Like

  3. I just got How To Make A Wish! I haven’t read it yet (obvs), but I’m glad to see you liked it so much! You should definitely read Under Rose Tainted Skies – that one is soooo good. I started Upside of Unrequited, but I didn’t get hooked, but I’ll be finishing it soon because I just think I was in one of those “I hate books” type of slump at the time lol

    Like

  4. So many faves on here! I adored Queens of Geek i think I was in tears more often then not reading it and basically highlighted every passage. Rose tainted is great so I hope you love it, so is Gentleman’s guide and Thug! There’s so many amazing books on this list, great tag ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. There are SO many amazing books being released this year. I am dying for Wild Beauty and Warcross and Warbringer!! Love your choices. Agree with Conjuring of Light being the best sequel too!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag – Mariam's Yummy Books

Leave a Reply

