The Queen of Dauphine Street – Steaminess, cuteness and corny Dad Jokes

The Queen of Dauphine Street.png

Series : NOLA Nights #2

Publication date : May 15th, 2017goodreads

Publisher : Pocket Star

Genre : Adult | Erotic Romance

Page Count: 236

Synopsis : When one of the world’s wildest socialites is paired with a handsome Texan, neither has any idea that their lives are about to change forever in this sexy, sultry romance in the NOLA Night series from New York Times bestselling author Thea de Salle.
Madeline Roussoux has it all: money, a dozen houses, a private jet, a cruise ship, even a tiger. Everyone knows her name. Her every move is watched, absorbed, adored, and abhorred by the public. She’s a dazzling spectacle on the society scene—a beautiful, flamboyant poster child for American privilege and Hollywood celebrity.
And she’s broken.

All the wealth in the world can’t make up for Maddy’s losses. Her father’s suicide and her mother’s ensuing breakdown left her orphaned as a teenager. She survived, but barely. From stints in rehab to a string of failed marriages, her dazzling smile hides deep scars. Finally, losing Sol DuMont, the one person she ever truly loved, has her wondering what is the point of being surrounded by people when you’re perpetually alone?
Enter Darren Sanders. He’s a beautiful Texas boy with a big heart and a bigger smile; the type of man women go crazy for. Literally. When Darren’s ex stalks him and then makes an attempt on his life, circumstances find him off to New Orleans with none other than Maddy Roussoux. He thought he knew everything there was to know about her, but there’s more to the woman whose image graces the covers of magazines worldwide, and Darren finds himself drawn into a world of excess he never imagined possible.
(From Goodreads)

Rating: 5 stars

The Queen of Dauphine Street.png

Content Warning: Stalking, attempted murder, shooting, PTSD, panic attacks, BDSM, mentions of physical abuse.

(No Spoilers)

I definitely am not obsessed with NOLA Nights and I definitely I’m not binge reading the heck out of the books available to me. Okay, yes I am. Proof is that I reviewed the first book, The King of Bourbon Street, just last week. But, oh well! I have no regrets. They’re just so freaking good and I also have friends to get me hyped up enough so that it’s physically impossible for me to pick up any other book because I can’t think about anything else but those amazing characters.

I already praised the writing in my first review and it is as good here, if not a bit better because the story is less focused on the sex and more on emotions and that, in my opinion, gives a bit more space for the writing to show. One thing that I will never get over is how great of a base Thea De Salle lays down for the characters that will be leads in companion novels, she manages to get me to love them from the few pages they actually show up in the stories and that, my friends, takes skills.

That being said, there was a sentence in there that even if it can be interpreted in a number of ways could come across as transmisic because of the use of having a penis in relation to manhood, so just to be safe, I’m putting it out here, it’s in chapter 17:

“His big smile and wild bed head made him look boyish, but one glance at the flaccid yet still impressive cock against his thigh destroyed the illusion quickly enough. He’s all man.

One of the MCs here is Maddy, Sol’s ex-wife from book 1, and even though I immediately knew I’d love her I didn’t know how much I would. She is a bit ridiculous and the most eccentric character I’ve ever read in my life. She lives on a huge boat where she has a jungle for her tiger, Capulet, and where she also has some kind of penis museum. You will love her too, she’s pansexual, deals with anxiety and PTSD and is such a gentle, caring woman who wears her heart onher sleeve (no matter how much she tries to hide it) while having a strong, loud and confident personnality.

Darren is such a big soft bear. He is huge, has a huge heart and is a huge dork, you might be the type to roll your eyes at dad jokes -like me- but you won’t be able to hold back a giggle when readind this because there are SO MANY of them and the fact that he is proud of them and doesn’t take himself too seriously is what makes it all funny. I might also be lowkey in love with him. I say also because I am highkey in love with Maddy. Anyway, Darren in the kind of charming dork that gets you to love him without even realizing it.

Their relationship is so so organic, I loved how Thea De Salle took her time with this one (compared to the first), the sex scenes start happening around 30ish percent in which gives the characters time to get comfortable around each other and you time to get engrossed in their story. Another thing I’ve noticed is that this one is considerably tamer than the first, less sex scenes, less kink. I mean less quantity wise, because when the sex and kink do happen, they’re very hot and smutty. I personally think that approach was necessary because of how it deals with heavy topics especially PTSD. Both MCs have it but the book focuses more on Darren’s because it’s all new to him and was triggered by the events at the start of the book. I loved how the author didn’t shy away from the depiction of mental illnesses (PTSD, anxiety, panic attacks) and delt with them with great care.

Another thing I LIVED for is when Rain and Sol made an appearance, my babies were so in love and happy and that gave me a lot of happy feelings. I can’t wait to read The Lady of Royale Street and have the same feelings over both Sol & Rain AND Maddy & Darren.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read The Queen of Dauphine Street ? If so, what did you think?

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

 

4 thoughts on “The Queen of Dauphine Street – Steaminess, cuteness and corny Dad Jokes

  1. Pingback: To Sum-up: July 2017 | Word Wonders
  2. Pingback: The Lady of Royale Street – Where Clumsy Grumpy Man meets Chaotic Woman | Word Wonders

Leave a Reply

