#TheReadingQuest Sign-up post

Title.png

Hello guys !

I’ve never ever done a monthly challenge on here (I believe) because for 1/ I don’t like stressing over my reading (which I do anyway) and 2/ They come at the worst time possible for me, especially Aentee’s challenges. Since I started blogging she’s made amazing and in my opinion the best reading challenges so I died a little bit inside everytime I couldn’t take part in them. UNTIL NOW.

So, #TheReadingQuest is a kickass video game inspired reading challenge created by Aentee @ Read at Midnight that you can learn everything about here, she also made the graphics, and the awesome drawings are my friend CW @ Read Think Ponder‘s brain children. It runs from August 13th until September 10th.

Characters.png

Basically, the game is that you choose a character out of four and you follow their path on the bingo sheet, each square is a reading challenge you have to read a book for. I was going to go with Rogue but since I already have arcs that I will be reading for #ARCAugust (I know yes I’m doing both when I used to do zero, shhh) and I don’t want to get new books for the purpose of a challenge I decided I’ll go with Mage because I actually had books that fit all the categories pretty easily. I’ll be doing some of the extra challenges as well because again, I have Arcs that fit the categories.

Bingo sheet

A book with a one word title

For this one I will be reading Pieces by G. Benson which is the only non-SFF book I will be reading for this challenge. It was kindly sent to me by the publisher and I still haven’t found time to read it nor the mood to be honest because it sounds like quite the heavy read. We’ll see how it goes.

A book that contains magic

The Tiger’s Watch by Julia Ember is my pick for this one and I. AM. SO. EXCITED. I loved each book the author puts out more than the one before and considering how much I loved The Seafarer’s Kiss and what my friends told me of this one I have very high expectations and I’m sure I won’t be let down

A book based on mythology

THIS IS PROBABLY THE ONE I’M MOST EXCITED ABOUT AH. It’s The Epic Crush of Genie Lo by F. C. Yee. It has a tall angry MC (me lol) and is inspired from chinese folklore and again, my friends hyped it up so so much for me so how can I not be excited, let’s be real.

A book set in a different world

A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin which is the only non-Arcs book I’ll be reading for this challenge and the only reason is that I got this one for my birthday is december and it has been sitting on my shelf since then and this seems like a kick in the butt opportunity to finally pick it up.

The first book is a series

For this last “mendatory” challenge I decided on Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller. It has a genderfluid thief that trains and goes into a deadly competition to become one of the queen’s assassin, and it sounds SO good. Keeping my fingers crossed I’ll like it.

Now for the extra challenges I’m thinking of doing:

Potions

For this one I think I’ll pick up Strong Signal by Megan Erickson and Santino Hassell which my friends have been screaming at me to read for the last couple of months, so August/September might be it, who knows?

Expansion

Walking on Knives by Maya Chhabra. This is supposed to be a dark little mermaid retelling which is why I requested it to begin with but after I did I heard some iffy things about it and that it contains non-consensual things as well as rape. So we’ll see how it goes.

Mini-game

Bone by Yrsa Daley-Ward. I was recommended this poetry collection by a friend so I requested it on Netgalley a few weeks ago and can’t wait to dive into it and see what it’s all about.

Respawn

This one I’m not very sure I will do, and if I end up doing it I’ll leave it for last. I think I want to pick up Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi again which I DNFed in June because I was putting me in a slump (and I’m pretty sure is what put me in a sllump even though I read stuff after it) so depending on how my reading goes, I’ll see if I end up reading this one or not.

Open World

I’ll maybe do this one as well if I end up reading a book that doesn’t fit any of the categories.

So now that this all out of the way, here is my character card that a friend made for me because I suck at photoshop:

Card.png


That’s it until next time.

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “#TheReadingQuest Sign-up post

  1. I hope you have fun completing this challenge. I read the first Game of Thrones book. It has a mystery element to it which is nice, but it is a little dark.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your TBR looks awesome! I’m participating too – a Mage as well – and I’m so excited!!!

    I hope The Epic Crush of Genie Lo is good – I have an ARC of it that I want to read before the challenge starts, but I had no idea that it was based on Chinese mythology. Just makes me want to read it more!

    Good luck on your quest! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

