To Sum-up: August 2017

2017 August.png

Hello guys !

How is it the end of summer already? I don’t wanna!!! I’m not ready to go back to stress and studying nonstop and just. Sigh. I’m here to wrap another month up, a month that was quite good reading wise.

1

Not gonna lie, August was pretty rough, mentally exhausting which I’d rather not talk about but I’ve been feeling better this past week or so. I also have some health issues with put me in an even worse state AND sent my anxiety on high alert. None of it is too bad, they’re just things I’d rather not be dealing with.

I got back into drawing and painting and made two pieces this month that I was pretty happy with even if I can’t stop seeing the flaws everywhere haha, I gotta take it easy on myself. I also discovered that making aesthetics does wonders for me when my anxiety skyrockets so I’ve been making lots of those over on Twitter lately.

Other than this, I really don’t have anything new, the month was pretty uneventful if you cross out the things mentionned above. One thing I’m proud of is how I was able to keep up with my blog even though I didn’t have internet for two weeks this month.

2

2017 - August.png

I read 9 books this month which I’m freaking proud of. Granted, one is  a short story, but still it’s awesome, especially since I was in a slump last month. All of these were arcs because I was participating in #ARCAugust and I was super helpful to help me get through my arcs quicker.

3

6

7.png

To Sum Up Titles.jpg

2017 Diversity Bingo Update.png

Here you can find the original sheet and a bunch of recommendations.

Hmm. My board is unchanged from last month because none of the arcs I had fit the squares. Oh well, better luck next month.

4

I’m going back to school + hospital rotations in a little over a week which I’m thrilled but super nervous about because the program this semester (and year really) is super busy and I’ll start having night shifts. One thing I’m ridiculously excited about is my pediatrics rotation because that’s what I’m most interested in out of all specialties. So, WISH ME LUCK.

Which means I will be spending considerably less time on Twitter and my bloghopping might go back to sucking again but ya know, a girl’s got to have her priorities straight. I really need to focus on school this year because otherwise I will struggle. That being said my blogging schedule will stay the same, unless I see that I can’t juggle everything life related AND blogging, then, I might think up some alternative plan. But for now, things will stay the same.

 

Ok so, Six of Crows is a reread, and I’m already almost half way through A Game of Thrones. So, this should be doable, right? Oh, I will also be reading a friend’s story which I’m sooo excited about.


That’s it until next time.

Did you read any of these books? What did you think of them?

What books did you read this month? Oh! And if you have any posts you think I should check out, leave them in the comments.

Hope you enjoyed, write to you soon.

signature

9 thoughts on “To Sum-up: August 2017

  1. Hi Fadwa! Wow that sounds like a whirlwind of a month and that is amazing that you read 10 books! It’s great that art is helping with your anxiety 🙂 I also find that doing creative things help me relax (for me that is writing and DIY).

    You mentioned that you are doing hospital rotations. Are you in medicine or pharmacy by any chance? 🙂 my fiancé is a medical resident and I am in pharmacy, which is why I am curious! Good luck with that pediatrics rotation, kids are toughies 🙂

    Like

  2. 10 books in one month is quite impressive!! I’m dying to read Dear Martin, The Hollow Girl, and Genie Lo so I’m glad to see you enjoyed those three. I hope you’re able to have a decent reading month even with school starting back up! Good luck!! 🙂

    Like

  3. Sorry to hear the past month has been rough. Creative activities help me with my stress and I also listen to music and exercise. When you have epilepsy you need to learn how to manage your stress. It is impressive you read nine books in one month. It is better than what I achieve. I read Game of Thrones a few years ago. In my opinion the first two books are the best.

    Like

  4. Good luck with classes resuming and the start of hospital rotations! I’m sure you’ll do wonderful in pediatrics 🙂 My sister-in-law is a NP in pediatrics and absolutely adores it.

    I haven’t read any of the books you read this month, but have been hearing wonderful things about Warcross! Looking forward to your review.

    I get to meet Leigh Bardugo at the end of the month while she is on tour for The Language of Thorns! I am super excited. I will be taking Six of Crows along with me to get signed 🙂 Have you read the second book?

    Like

  5. I’m glad your feeling better. I’m sorry it’s been a tough month for you. August hasn’t been that great for me either. Hopefully September is lighter and brighter for you. 😀 You’ve had an incredible reading month. Warcorss is one of my most anticipated books of the year but Illegal Contact sounds like a book I’d enjoy as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

