#DiverseBookbloggersDiscuss: How ADHD affects my reading

 

Ceillie.pngHello guys !

I was diagnosed with ADHD when I was 12, but the diagnosis didn’t really surprise me, or my parents. I’ve always been impulsive, overeager, and regularly either hyperfocused or unfocused. I would often tell people “oh yeah, I know how to do this thing,” whether that thing was playing the guitar, swimming, or reading aloud. It often got me into trouble, and embarrassed when it was proven I couldn’t actually do the thing I said I could. Not being able to swim as well as I said I could as a kid meant that I had several very unsafe experiences in the deep end of pools.

Those traits follow me into every part of my life, and affect how I read more than you might think.

Hyperfocus makes me a dedicated reader, when I can focus on anything at all. I read at a comparatively high speed, and often tune everything else out when I get really into a book. I love it when I can hyperfocus on a book, because I absorb everything I can from that novel. That book would almost always be a book that I fall in love with. Being able to hyperfocus on it is often the sign of a book that would get a five star rating, back when I used to rate with stars on my blog. Now that it’s foxes, they still tend to be the books I love more than others.

However, I can’t always control what books I can hyperfocus, or even just plain focus, on. If there’s a lot of sound nearby, or the texture of my clothes are wrong, or I’m not in the right reading position, it often leaves me as unfocused as a bored toddler. It also means that if I’m not enjoying a book, I can rarely bring myself to pick it back up.

One thing that I do to help myself focus on a book is read whatever it is as an audiobook. Audiobooks don’t help me focus on them if I’m not doing something else, but if I’m driving or knitting, things that don’t require a ton of brainpower, it’s just enough to make my brain kick into gear and be able to do both things with relative ease. Audiobooks are also helpful because of my day job schedule, but that’s a discussion for another post.

My impulsivity also helps, and hurts, my reading. It leads me to pick up books that are probably not the best choices for me, or to not fully read the synopsis (or the publisher name) before I request them as a reviewer. This means that I read books by publishers that I know I won’t enjoy – or I would have known, had I, you know, read the name before requesting. (I’m looking at you Jessica Kingsley Publishers. I’m looking directly at you.) However, on occasion, it also leads me to books that I wouldn’t have thought I’d love, but I actually do. It’s both great and terrible. I also pick up books based on their cover art on occasion, thanks to my graphic design background in college, and love of good art. Give me a good cover, and I’m at least fifty percent more likely to pick up a book. It’s just how my brain works.

Overeagerness is my favorite trait when it comes to reading. Overeagerness is what leads me to overbook myself on my blog schedule and do as much as I do, and I love it. Even when it gets to be too much, I love to be busy, and to multitask on whatever I’m working on. This does tend to lead me to overwork myself, but I love what I do – if I didn’t, I wouldn’t be able to do as much as I do.

Multitasking also leads me to be a regular presence on Twitter, even when I shouldn’t be. However, I use an app called Forest to help keep me off of Twitter when I absolutely need to be working on something else – like, say a blog post, or an article for work. I also have to keep myself organized with a couple of different apps that you can find in this post.

I’ve seen a lot of people say they’d look for a cure for their learning disabilities, or their mental health issues, and I can’t say that I blame them. I just know I wouldn’t, because this is part of who I am and always will be. And I love that.


Ceillie sig

Book blogger @ Candid Ceillie

Ceillie is a county reporter by day, and blogger whenever she gets the chance. She is the parent of two furballs – a cat named Luke and a dog named Moose, and the soon-to-be-wife of a great guy. She’s queer, neurodivergent and cisgender, and she loves to meet and support new people, and can most often be found on Twitter at @CandidCeillie.

Notable posts:

Diverse Book Bloggers Discuss is a way to boost diverse bloggers who are brilliant and have a lot to say but have smaller platforms and don’t really get as much reach as they deserve. What this is, is basically a guest post feature where twice a month diverse book bloggers will discuss things they are passionate about on my blog. 

3 thoughts on “#DiverseBookbloggersDiscuss: How ADHD affects my reading

  1. I also have ADHD and reading your post, to be perfectly frank, felt like I was reading an entry from my own personal journal. I have the same exact struggles when I’m unfocused, and I hate that more often than not I just can’t control it. I have similar problems with being impulsive, but it works to my disadvantage when combined with overeagerness also! There are books out there that I know I will really enjoy, but I end up picking them up at the completely wrong moments (eg: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline ’cause I got so impatient; normally, I’d love it, but because of the bad timing, I had to DNF it). Sometimes overeagerness works beautifully in my favour, but not often, unfortunately. I’m finally taking some mild medication for my ADHD, but man, it can make being a reader so challenging sometimes. Thank you so much for this post, Fadwa! It felt so nice to be able to relate to another reader who has the same struggles and can understand them so intimately. Also, you are such a badass blogger. ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I understand ADHD being part of who your are. I have had epilepsy since I was six. While I don’t really want seizures, having epilepsy is part of who I am. It may be nice not so have OCD which my epilepsy brought on, but that is another issue. I never knew what it would be like to have ADHD before reading this post. Thank you for sharing Ceillie and for Fadwa for having this post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

